Lust’s Dominion – Act Four, Scene Two

Return to previous scene

Enter PHILIP and CARDINAL.

PHILIP
Move forward with main battalion,
Or else all is lost.

CARDINAL
I will not move a foot.

PHILIP
S’heart, will you lose the day?

CARDINAL
You lose your wits;
You’re mad.  It is no policy.

PHILIP
You lie.

CARDINAL
Lie?

PHILIP
Lie!  A pox upon’t, Cardinal.  Come on;
Second the desperate vanguard which is mine,
And where I’ll die or win, follow my sword
The bloody way I’ll lead it, or by heaven,
I’ll play the devil and mar all, we’ll turn our backs
Upon the Moors, and set on thee.  Ay thee,
Thee, Cardinal, s’heart thee!

CARDINAL
Your desperate arm
Hath almost thrust quite through the heart of hope;
Our fortunes lie a-bleeding by your rash
And violent onset.

PHILIP
Oh, oh, s’life, s’foot, will you fight?

CARDINAL
We will not hazard all upon one cast.

PHILIP
You will not?

CARDINAL
No.

PHILIP
Coward.

CARDINAL
By deeds, I’ll try,
Whether your venomous tongue says true.  Farewell.
Courage shines both in this, and policy.                                            [Exit.

PHILIP
To save thy skin whole, that’s the policy,
You whoreson fat-chop’d guts!  I’ll melt away
That larded body by the heat of fight,
Which I’ll compel thee to, or else by flying;
To work which I’ll give way to the proud foe
Whilst I stand laughing to behold thee run.
Cardinal, I’ll to it, I’ll do’t.  “A Moor, a Moor,”
Philippo cries, “a Moor!”  Holla!  Ha!  Whoo!

Enter KING OF PORTUGAL.

KING OF PORTUGAL
Prince Philip!  Philip!

PHILIP
Here, plague, where’s the Moor?

KING OF PORTUGAL
The Moor’s a devil; never did horrid fiend
Compell’d by some magician’s mighty charm,
Break through the prisons of the solid earth
With more strange horror than this prince of hell.
This damned negro lion-like doth rush
Through all, and spite of all knit opposition.

PHILIP
Puh!  Puh!  Where?  Where?  I’ll meet him.  Where?  You mad me.
‘Tis not his arm
That acts such wonders, but our cowardice.
This Cardinal, oh, this Cardinal is a slave.

Enter Captain.

CAPTAIN
Sound a retreat or else the day is lost.

PHILIP
I’ll beat that dog to death that sounds retreat.

KING OF PORTUGAL
Philip.

PHILIP
I’ll tear his heart out that dares name but “sound.”

KING OF PORTUGAL
Sound a retreat.

PHILIP
Who’s that?  You tempt my sword, sir.
Continue this alarum, fight pell-mell!
Fight, kill, be damn’d!  This fat-back coward Cardinal
Lies heavy on my shoulders.  This, ay, this
Shall fling him off. Sound a retreat!  Zounds, you mad me.
Ambition plumes the Moor, whilst black despair
Offering to tear from him the diadem
Which he usurps, make him to cry at all,
And to act deeds beyond astonishment.
But Philip is the night that darks his glories.
This sword yet reeking with the negro’s blood,
Being grasp’d by equity, and this strong arm
Shall through and through.

ALL
Away then!

PHILIP
From before me,
Stay, stand, stand fast; fight!  A Moor, a Moor!

To them enter ELEAZAR, ZARACK, BALTAZAR, RODERIGO, CHRISTOFERO and Others; they fight; Moors are beat in. Exeunt omnes; manet ELEAZAR weary; stays; a Moor lies slain.

ELEAZAR
Oh, for more work, more souls to post to hell
That I might pile up Charon’s boat so full
Until it topple o’er.  Oh, ‘twould be sport
To see them sprawl through the black slimy lake.
Ha, ha; there’s one going thither.  Sirrah, you,
You, slave, who killed thee?  How he grins!  This breast
Had it been temper’d and made proof like mine,
It never would have been a mark for fools
To hit afar off with their dastard bullets.
But thou didst well; thou knew’st I was thy lord;
And out of love and duty to me here,
Where I fell weary, thou ladst down thyself
To bear me up, thus.  God a-mercy, slave.
A king for this shall give thee a rich grave.

As he sits down, enter PHILIP with a broken sword.

PHILIP
I’ll wear thee to the pommel, but I’ll find
The subject of mine honour and revenge.
Moor, ‘tis for thee I seek. Come now, now take me
At good advantage. Speak, where art thou?

ELEAZAR
Here.

PHILIP
Fate and revenge, I thank you. Rise.

ELEAZAR
Leave and live.

PHILIP
Villain, it is Philippo that bids rise.

ELEAZAR
It had been good for thee to have hid thy name.
For the discovery, like to a dangerous charm
Hurts him that finds it.  Wherefore does those bloodhounds,
Thy rage and valour, chase me?

PHILIP
Why, to kill thee.

ELEAZAR
With that!  What, a blunt axe?  Think’st thou I’ll let
Thy fury take a full blow at this head,
Having these arms?  Be wise; go change thy weapon.

PHILIP
Oh, sir!

ELEAZAR
I’ll stay thy coming.

PHILIP
Thou’lt be damn’d first.

ELEAZAR
By all our Indian gods—

PHILIP
Puh!  Never swear.
Thou know’st ‘tis for a kingdom which we fight,
And for that who’ll not venture to hell-gates?
Come, Moor, I am arm’d with more than complete steel,
The justice of my quarrel.  When I look
Upon my father’s wrongs, my brother’s wounds,
My mother’s infamy, Spain’s misery,
And lay my finger here, oh, ‘tis too dull
To let out blood enough to quench them all!
But when I see your face, and know what fears
Hang on thy troubled soul like leaden weights
To make it sink, I know this finger’s touch
Has strength to throw thee down; I know this iron
Is sharp and long enough to reach that head.
Fly not, devil.  If thou do—

ELEAZAR
How, fly?  Oh, base!

PHILIP
Come then.

ELEAZAR
Stay, Philip, whosoe’er begat thee—

PHILIP
Why, slave, a king begat me!

ELEAZAR
May be so,
But I’ll be sworn thy mother was a queen.
For her sake will I kill thee nobly.
Fling me thy sword; there’s mine. I scorn to strike
A man disarm’d.

PHILIP
For this dishonouring me,
I’ll give thee one stab more.

ELEAZAR
I’ll run away,
Unless thou change that weapon, or take mine.

PHILIP
Neither.

ELEAZAR
Farewell.

PHILIP
S’heart, stay, and if you dare,
Do as I do; oppose thy naked breast
Against this poniard.  See, here’s this for thine.

ELEAZAR
I am for thee, Philip.

PHILIP
Come, nay, take more ground.

ELEAZAR
Thou’t run away then.

PHILIP
Hah!

ELEAZAR
Thou’t run away then.

PHILIP
Faith, I will, but first on this I’ll bear
Thy panting heart, thy head upon my spear.

ELEAZAR
Come.

Enter on both sides, CARDINAL and KING OF PORTUGAL, on the one side, and Moors on the other.

CARDINAL’S SIDE
Upon the Moors!

MOORS’ SIDE
Upon the Cardinal!

PHILIP
Hold, Cardinal!  Strike not any of our side.

ELEAZAR
Hold Moors!  Strike not any of our side.

PHILIP
We two will close this battle.

ELEAZAR
Come, agreed.
Stand, armies, and give aim whilst we two bleed.

CARDINAL
With poniards.  ‘Tis too desperate, dear Philip.

PHILIP
Away!  Have at the Moor!  S’heart, let me come!

KING OF PORTUGAL
Be arm’d with manly weapons; ‘tis for slaves
To dig their own and such unworthy graves.

ELEAZAR
I am for thee any way; thus, or see thus;
Here try the vigour of thy sinewy arm.
The day is ours already, brainless heads
And bleeding bodies like a crown to stand
About the temples of our victory.
Yet Spaniard, if you dare, we’ll fight it out
Thus man to man alone.  I’ll first begin,
And conquer, or in blood wade up to th’chin.

PHILIP
Let not a weapon stir, but his and mine.

ELEAZAR
Not on this side; conquest in blood shall shine.

Alarum.  They fight a combat. The Moor is struck down, which his side seeing, step all in and rescue him; the rest join and drive in the Moors.  Alarum continuing, Spaniards and Moors with drum and colours fly over the stage, pursued by PHILIP, CARDINAL, KING OF PORTUGAL and Others.  Enter ZARACK, CHRISTOFERO, and ELEAZAR at several doors.

CHRISTOFERO
Where is my lord?

ZARACK
Where is our sovereign?

ELEAZAR
What news brings Zarack and Christofero?

ZARACK
Oh, fly, my lord!  Fly, for the day is lost.

ELEAZAR
There are three hundred and odd days in a year,
And cannot we lose one of them?  Come fight!

CHRISTOFERO
The lords have left us, and the soldiers faint.
You are round besset with proud fierce enemies.
Death cannot be prevented but by flight.

ELEAZAR
He shall, Christofero.  I have yet left
One stratagem that in despite of fate,
Shall turn the wheel of war about once more.
The mother queen hath all this while sad sadly
Within our tent, expecting to whose bosom
White-winged peace and victory will fly.
Her have I used as a fit property
To stop this dangerous current.  Her have I sent
Arm’d with love’s magic to enchant the Cardinal,
And bind revenge down with resistless charms.
By this time she does hang about his neck,
And by the witchcraft of a cunning kiss
Has she disarm’d him.  Hark, they sound retreat.
She has prevail’d.  A woman’s tongue and eye
Are weapons stronger than artillery.                                         [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

