Lust’s Dominion – Act Five, Scene Two

Return to previous scene

Enter HORTENZO, QUEEN MOTHER, CARDINAL and PHILIP, chain’d by the necks; ZARACK and BALTAZAR busy about fastening HORTENZO.

HORTENZO
You damned ministers of villainy
Sworn to damnation by the book of hell;
You maps of night, you element of devils,
Why do you yoke my neck with iron chains?

BALTAZAR
Many do borrow chains, but you have this gratis for nothing.

CARDINAL
Slaves, unbind us!

ZARACK & BALTAZAR
No.                                                                     [Exeunt ZARACK and BALTAZAR.

PHILIP
I am impatient; veins, why crack you not?
And tilt your blood into the face of heaven
To make red clouds like ensigns in the sky,
Displaying a damn’d tyrant’s cruelty.
Yet can I laugh in my extrement pangs
Of blood and spirit, to see the Cardinal
Keep rank with me and my vile mother queen,
To see herself where she would have me seen.
Good fellowship, i’faith.

HORTENZO
And I can tell
True misery loves a companion well.

PHILIP
Thou left’st me to the mercy of a Moor
That hath damnation dy’d upon his flesh.
‘Twas well.  Thou, mother, didst unmotherly
Betray thy true son to false bastardy;
Thou left’st me then, now thou art found and staid,
And thou who didst betray me, art betray’d.
A plague upon you all!

CARDINAL
Thou cursest them
Whom I may curse; first may I curse myself,
Too credulous of loyalty and love;
Next may I curse the Moor, more than a devil.
And last thy mother, mother of all evil.

QUEEN MOTHER
All curses and all crosses light on thee
What need I curse myself when all curse me?
I have been deadly impious, I confess;
Forgive me, and my sin will seem the less.
This heavy chain which now my neck assaults
Weighs ten times lighter than my heavy faults.

PHILIP
Hortenzo, I comment myself to thee,
Thou that art near’st, standst furthest off from me

HORTENZO
That mold of hell that Moor has chain’d me here.
‘Tis not myself, but Isabel I fear.

Enter ELEAZAR, ISABELLA, ZARACK and BALTAZAR.

ELEAZAR
It’s strange.  Will not Prince Philip come with Hortenzo?

ZARACK
He swears he’ll live and die there.

ELEAZAR
Marry and shall.
I pray persuade him you to leave the place.
A prison?  Why, it’s hell.  Alas, here they be.
Hah!  There are they i’faith; see, see, see, see.

ALL
Moor, devil, toad, serpent!

ELEAZAR
Oh, sweet airs, sweet voices!

ISABELLA
Oh, my Hortenzo!

ELEAZAR
Do not these birds sing sweetly, Isabella?
Oh, how their spirits would leap aloft and spring
Had they their throats at liberty to sing.

PHILIP
Damnation dog thee!

CARDINAL
Furies follow thee!

QUEEN MOTHER
Comets confound thee!

HORTENZO
All hell swallow thee!

ELEAZAR
Sweeter and sweeter still.  Oh, harmony!
Why there’s no music like to misery.

ISABELLA
Hast thou betray’d me thus?

ELEAZAR
Not I, not I.

PHILIP
Sirrah, hedgehog.

ELEAZAR
Hah!  I’ll hear thee presently.

ISABELLA
Hear me then, hell-hound.  Slaves, unchain my love,
Or by—

ELEAZAR
By what?  Is’t not rare walking here?
Methinks this stage shows like a tennis court,
Does it not, Isabel?  I’ll show thee how.
Suppose that iron chain to be the line,
The prison doors the hazard, and their heads
Scarce peeping o’er the line suppose the balls.
Had I a racket now of burnish’d steel,
How smoothly could I bandy every ball
Over this gobe of earth, win, set, and all.

PHILIP
How brisk the villain jets in villainy!

ELEAZAR
Prating?  He’s proud because he wears a chain.
Take it off, Baltazar, and take him hence.                             [They unbind him.

PHILIP
And whither then, you dog?

ISABELLA
Pity, my brother.

ELEAZAR
Pity him!  No, away.  Ay, come, do come.

PHILIP
I pray thee, kill me; come.

ELEAZAR
I hope to see
Thy own hands do that office.  Down with him.

PHILIP
Is there another hell?

ZARACK & BALTAZAR
Try, try; he’s gone.                                                       [Thrust PHILIP down trap.

ELEAZAR
So.  Him next, her next, and next him.  And then?

ALL
Worse than damnation, fiend, monster of men!

ELEAZAR
Why, when?  Down, down.

CARDINAL
Slave, as thou thrusts me down,
Into this dungeon, so sink thou to hell!                                  [Down CARDINAL.

QUEEN MOTHER
Amen, amen!                                                                 [Down QUEEN MOTHER.

ELEAZAR
Together so, and you.

ISABELLA
Oh, pity my Hortenzo!

HORTENZO
Farewell, sweet Isabel. My life, adieu!                                     [Down HORTENZO.

ALL
[Under stage.] Mischief and horror let the Moor pursue!

ELEAZAR
A consort, that amain, play that amain,
Amain, amain.  No; so soon fallen asleep,
Nay, I’ll not loose this music, sirrah, sirrah!
Take thou a drum, a trumpet thou, and hark,
Mad them with villainous sounds.

ZARACK
Rare sport, let’s go.                                                [Exeunt ZARAK and BALTAZAR.

ELEAZAR
About it.  Music will do well, in woe.
How like you this?

ISABELLA
Set my Hortenzo free,
And I’ll like anything.

ELEAZAR
A fool, a fool!
Hortenzo free?  Why, look you, he free?  No.
Then must he marry you, you must be queen;
He, in a manner, king; these dignities
Like poison make men swell; this ratsbane hnour,
Oh, ‘tis so sweet, they’ll lick it till all burst.
He will be proud, and pride you know must fall.
Come, come, he shall not.  No, no, ‘tis more meet
To keep him down, safe standing on his feet.

ISABELLA
Eleazar?

ELEAZAR
Mark, the imperial chair of Spain
Is now as empty as a miser’s alms.
Be wise.  I yet dare sit in’t; it’s for you;
If you will be for me, there’s room for two.
Do, meditate, muse on’t; it’s best for thee
To love me, live with me, and lie with me.

ISABELLA
Thou knowst I’ll first lie in the arms of death.
My meditations are how to revenge
Thy bloody tyrannies I fear thee not,
Inhuman slave, but to thy face defy
Thy lust, thy love, thy barbarous villainy.

ELEAZAR
Zarack!

Enter ZARACK.

ZARACK
My lord?

ELEAZAR
Where’s Baltazar?

ZARACK
A drumming.

ELEAZAR
I have made them rave and curse and so.  Guard her.
Your court shall be this prison; guard her, slaves,
With open eyes.  Defy me? See, my veins,
Stuck’t out, being overheated with my blood,
Boiling in wrath; I’ll tame you!

ISABELLA
Do, do!

ELEAZAR
Hah!
I will, and once more fill a kingdom’s throne.
Spain, I’ll new-mould thee; I will have a chair
Made all of dead men’s bones, and the ascents
Shall be the heads of Spaniards set in ranks.
I will have Philip’s head, Hortenzo’s head,
Mendoza’s head, thy mother’s head, and this,
This head that is so cross, I’ll have’t.
The scene wants actors; I’ll fetch more, and clothe it
In rich cothurnall pomp.  A tragedy
Ought to be grave, graves this shall beautify.
Moor, execute to’th’life my dread commands;
Vengeance, awake, thou hast much work in hand.                                  [Exit.

ZARACK
I weary of this office, and this life;
It is too thirsty, and I would your blood
Might scape the spilling out.  By heaven, I swear,
I scorn these blows and his rebukes to bear!

ISABELLA
Oh, Zarack, pity me!  I love thee well,
Love deserves pity, pity, Isabel.

ZARACK
What would you have me do?

ISABELLA
To kill this Moor.

ZARACK
I’ll cast an eye of death upon my face.
I’ll be no more his slave.  Swear to advance me,
And by yon setting sun, this hand, and this
Shall rid you of a tyrant.

ISABELLA
By my birth,
No Spaniard’s honour’d place shall equal thine!

ZARACK
I’ll kill him then.

ISABELLA
And, Baltazar.

ZARACK
And he.

ISABELLA
I pray thee first, fetch Philippo and Hortenzo
Out of that hell; they two will be most glad
To aid thee in this exeution.

ZARACK
My lord Philippo and Hortenzo, rise.

Up PHILIP and HORTENZO.

Your hands; so.  Talk to her.  At my return,
This sword shall reek with blood of Baltazar.                                   [Exit.

PHILIP
Three curses, like three commendations
To their three souls, I send.  Thy tortur’d brother
Does curse the Cardinal, the Moor, thy mother.

ISABELLA
Curse not at all, dear souls.  Revenge is hot,
And boils in Zarack’s brains.  The plot is cast
Into the mould of hell.  You freemen are;
Zarack will kill the Moor, and Baltazar.

HORTENZO
How can that relish?

ISABELLA
Why, I’ll tell you how.
I did profess; ay, and protested too,
I lov’d him well, what will not sorrow do?
Then he profess’d; ay, and protested too,
To kill them both; what will not devil’s do?

PHILIP
Then I profess; ay, and protest it too,
That here’s for him, what will not Philip do?

HORTENZO
See where he comes.

Enter ZARACK and BALTAZAR.

BALTAZAR
Zarack, what do I see?
Hortenzo and Philippo!  Who did this?

ZARACK
I, Baltazar.

BALTAZAR
Thou art half damned for it.
I’ll to my lord.

ZARACK
I’ll stop you on your way.                                                            [Stabs him.
Lie there.  Thy tongue shall tell no tales today.

PHILIP
Nor thine tomorrow.                                                                     [Stabs him.
This revenge was well.
By this time both the slaves shake hands in hell.

ISABELLA
Philippo and Hortenzo, stand you still?
What, dote you both? Cannot you see your play?
Well, fare a woman then to lead the way.
Once rob the dead, put the Moors’ habits on
And paint your faces with the oil of hell,
So waiting on the tyrant—

PHILIP
Come, no more.
‘Tis here, and here.  Room there below; stand wide,
Bury them well since they so godly died.

[Cast ZARACK and BALTAZAR down trap.

HORTENZO
Away then.  Fate, now let revenge be plac’d—

PHILIP
Here.

HORTENZO
And here; a tyrant’s blood doth sweetly taste.                                  [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

