Lust’s Dominion – Act Five, Scene Three

Return to previous scene

Enter ELEAZAR, ALVERO, RODERIGO, CHRISTOFERO, and other Lords.

ELEAZAR
What, I imprison who?

ALL
Philip and Hortenzo.

ELEAZAR
Philip and Hortenzo, ha, ha, ha!

RODERIGO
Why laughs the Moor?

ELEAZAR
I laugh because you jest.
Laugh at a jest.  Who, I imprison them?
I prize their lives with weights, their necks with chains,
Their hands with manacles?  Do I all this?
Because my face is in night’s colour dyed,
Think you my conscience and my soul is so,
Black faces may have hearts as white as snow,
And ‘tis a general rule in moral rowls,
The whitest faces have the blackest souls.

ALVERO
But touching my Hortenzo—

ELEAZAR
Good old man,
I never touch’d him; do not touch me then
With thy Hortenzo.

CHRISTOFERO
Where’s Philippo too?

ELEAZAR
And where’s Philippo too?  I pray, I pray,
Is Philip a tame Spaniard?  What, can I
Fillip him hither, hither make him fly.
First, where’s Hortenzo, where Philippo too?

RODERIGO
And where is Isabel; she was with you.

ELEAZAR
And where is Isabel; she was with me;
And so are you, yet are you well, you see.

Enter PHILIP and HORTENZO like Moors.

But in good time, see where their keepers come.
Come hither, Zarack, Baltazar, come hither;
Zarack, old lord Alvero asks of thee
Where young Hortenzo is.

HORTENZO
My lord, set free.

ELEAZAR
Oh, is he so?  Come hither, Baltazar.
Lord Christofero here would ask of thee
Where Prince Philip is.

PHILIP
My lord, set free.

ELEAZAR
Oh, is he so?  Roderigo asketh me
For Isabel.

PHLIP
I say, my lord, she’s free.

ELEAZAR
Oh, is she so?

PHILIP
Believe me, lords.

HORTENZO
And me.

PHILIP
I set Philippo.

HORTENZO
I, Hortanzo free.

ELEAZAR
My lords, because you shall believe me too,
Go to the castle, I will follow you.

ALVERO
Thanks to the mighty Moor, and for his fame
Be more in honour then thou art in name.
But let me wish the other prisoners well;
The queen and Cardinal, let all have right,
Let law absolve them or dissolve them quite.

ELEAZAR
Grave man, they gray hairs paint out gravity,
Thy counsel’s wisdom, thy wit policy.
There let us meet, and with a general brain
Erect the peace of spirit and of Spain.

ALVERO
Then will Spain flourish.

ELEAZAR
[Aside.] Ay, what is mine.

RODERIGO
Oh, heavenly meeting!

ELEAZAR
[Aside.] We must part in hell.

CHRISTOFERO
True peace of joy!

ELEAZAR
[Aside.] ‘Tis a dissembling knell.

[Exeunt.  Manent ELEAZAR, PHILIP and HORTENZO.

Farewell, my lords, meet there. So, ha, ha ha!                      [Draws his rapier.
Now, tragedy, thou minion of the night,
Rhamnusia’s pew-fellow; to thee I’ll sing
Upon a harp made of dead Spanish bones,
The proudest instrument the world affords.
When thou in crimson jollity shalt bathe
Thy limbs as black as mine, in springs of blood,
Still gushing from the conduit-head of Spain,
To thee that never blushest, thou thy cheeks
Are full of blood.  Oh, Saint Revenge, to thee
I consecrate my murders, all my stabs,
My bloody labours, tortures, strategems,
The volume of all wounds that wound from me;
Mine is the stage, thine is the tragedy.
Where am I now?  Oh, at the prison?  True.
Zarack and Baltazar, come hither, see,
Survey my library.  I study, I,
Whilst you two sleep; marry, ‘tis villainy.
Here’s a good book, Zarack, behold it well.
It’s deeply written for ‘twas made in hell.
Now, Baltazar, a better book for thee;
But for myself, this, this, the best of all.
And therefore do I chain it every day,
For fear the readers steal the art away.
Where thou stand’st now, there must Hortenzo hang,
Like Tantalus in a maw-eating pang.
There, Baltazar, must Prince Philip stand,
Like damn’d Prometheus, and to act his part
Shall have a dagger sticking at his heart.
But in my room I’ll set the Cardinal,
And he shall preach repentance to them all.
Ha, ha, ha!

PHILIP
[Aside.] Damnation tickles him, he laughs again.
Philippo must stand there and bleed to death.
Well, villain, I only laugh to see
That we shall live to out-laugh him and thee.

ELEAZAR
Oh, sit, sit, sit, stay a rare jest, rare jest.
Zarack, suppose thou art Hortanzo now.
I pray thee stand in passion of a pang
To see by thee how quaintly he would hang.

HORTENZO
I am Hortenzo. [Aside.] Tut, tut, fear not man,
Thou lookest like Zarack.

ELEAZAR
Ay, Hortenzo here.
He shall hang here, i’faith.  Come, Zarack, come,
And let Baltazar take thou Philippo’s room.
First, let me see you plac’d.

PHILIP
We’re plac’d.

ELEAZAR
Slaves, ha, ha, ha!
You are but players, they must end the play.
How like Hortenzo and Philippo, ha.
Stand my two slaves, were they as black as you.
Well, Zarack, I’ll unfix thee first of all;
Thou shalt hrlp me to play the Cardinal.
This iron engine on his head I’ll clap,
Like a Pope’s mitre, or a cardinal’s cap.
Then manacle his hands as thou dost mine.           [They manacle his hands.
So, so, I pray thee, Zarack, set him free,
That both of you may stand and laugh at me.

PHILIP
‘Tis fine, i’faith. Call in more company,
Alvero, Roderigo, and the rest,
Who will not laugh at Eleazar’s jest?

ELEAZAR
What?  Zarack, Baltazar?

PHILIP
Ay, anon, anon,
We have not laugh’d enough.  It’s but begun.                                [Knocking.
Who knocks?

ELEAZAR
Unmanacle my hands, I say.

PHILIP
Then shall we mar our mirth and spoil the play.
Who knocks?

ALVERO
[Within.] Alvero.

PHILIP
Let Alvero in.

ELEAZAR
And let me out.

Enter ALVERO, RODERIGO, CHRISTOFERO and other Lords; and QUEEN MOTHER and CARDINAL from below.

PHILIP
I thank you for that flout
To let Alvero in and let you out.

ELEAZAR
Villains, slaves, am I not your lord the Moor,
And Eleazar?

QUEEN MOTHER
And the devil of hell,
And more than that, and Eleazar too.

ELEAZAR
And devil’s dam, what do I here with you?

QUEEN MOTHER
My tongue shall torture thee.

ELEAZAR
I know thee then,
All women’s tongues are tortures unto men.

QUEEN MOTHER
Spaniards, this was the villain, this is he,
Who through enticements of alluring lust,
And glory which makes silly women proud,
And men malicious, did incense my spirit
Beyond the limits of a woman’s mind
To wrong myself and that Lord Cardinal;
And that which sticks more near unto my blood,
He that was nearest to my blood, my son,
To dispossess him of his right by wrong.
Oh, that I might embrace him on this breast,
Which did enclose him when he first was born.
No greater happiness can heaven show upon me,
Then to circle in these arms of mine
That son whose royal blood I did defame
To crown with honour an ambitious Moor.

PHILIP
Thus then thy happiness in complete.                                [Embraces her.
Behold thy Philip ransom’d from that prison
In which the Moor had cloister’d him.

HORTENZO
And here’s Hortenzo.

ELEAZAR
Then am I betray’d
And cozen’d in my own designs.  I did
Contrive their ruin, but their subtle policy
Hath blasted my ambitious thoughts.
Villains!  Where’s Zarack?  Where is Baltazar?
What have you done with them?

PHILIP
They’re gone to Pluto’s kingdom to provide
A place for thee, and to attend thee there.
But least they shoud lbe tired with too long
Expecting hopes, come brave spirits of Spain,
This is the Moor, the actor of these evils.
Thus thrust him down to act amongst the devils.               [Stabs him.

ELEAZAR
And am I thus dispatch’d.
Had I but breath’d the space of one hour longer,
I would have fully acted my revenge.
But oh, now pallid death bids me prepare,
And has to Charon for to be his fare.
I come, I come, but ere my glass is run,
I’ll curse you all, and cursing, end my life.
May’st thou, lascivious queen, whose damned charms
Bewtich’d me to the circle of thy arms,
Unpitied die, consumed with loathed lust,
Which thy venereous mind hath basely nurs’d.
And for you, Philip, may your days be long,
But clouded with perpetual misery.
May thou, Hortanzo, and thy Isabel,
Be fetch’d alive by furies into hell,
Ther to be damn’d for ever.  Oh, I faint!
Devils, come claim your right, and when I am
Confin’d within your kingdom, then shall I
Outact you all in perfect villainy.                                                    [Dies.

PHILIP
Take down his body while his blood streams forth.
His acts are past, and our last act is done.
Now do I challenge my hereditary right,
To th’royal Spanish throne usurp’d by him.
In which,
In all your sights I thus do plant myself.
Lord Cardinal, and you the queen my mother,
I pardon all those crimes you have committed.

QUEEN MOTHER
I’ll now repose myself in peaceful rest,
And fly unto some solitary residence,
Where I’ll spin out the remnant of my life
In true contrition for my past offences.

PHILIP
And now, Hortenzo, to close up your wound,
I here contract my sister unto thee
With comic joy to end a tragedy.
And for this barbarous Moor, and his black train,
Let all the Moors be banished from Spain.                               [Exeunt.

F I N I S.

Return to Dekker page.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

