Dramatis Personæ and dedications

Return to Title page

ELEAZER, the Moor, Prince of Fesse and Barbary.
PHILIP, King of Spain, Father to Fernando, Philip, and Isabella.
FERNANDO, King of Spain,        Sons to
PHILIP, Prince of Spain,              Philip.
ALVERO, a Nobleman, and father-in-law to Eleazar, and father to Hortenzo and Maria.
MENDOZA, the Cardinal.
CHRISTOFERO,                          two noblemen
RODERIGO,                                    of Spain.
VERDUGO, another nobleman.
HORTENZO, lover to Isabella, and son to Alvero
ZARACK,                         Two Moors,
BALTAZAR,                  attending Eleazar.
COLE &                         Two
CRAB                            Friars.
EMMANUEL, King of Portugal.
Captain, Soldiers, cup aliis.
Two Pages attending the Queen.
OBERON and his Fairies.

EUGENIA, the Queen Mother of Spain, and wife to King Philip.
ISABELA, the Infanta of Spain.
MARIA, wife to Eleazar, and daughter to Alvero.

—–

To my worthily honoured friend, William Carpenter, Esquire

 

Sir!

My ambition hath long soared so high as to prompt me to somewhat whereby I might in part render to you my gratitude; and not yet finding any service I can act for you, a sufficient or competent return of any part of those many favours you have still honoured me withal.  I took on me the resolution, rather than to be thought wholly negligent of you, to lay hold on this means of rendering you my service.  Sir!  This piece, which without your favour and command had  never past the press, I here present to you with this confidence, that as you were instrumental in its production to the world, so your name and favour will be sufficient to protect it from the calumno of this censorious age.  In doing of which you will multiply those obligations you have conferred upon,

Your devoted servant,

FRA. KIRKMAN, Jun.

To my honoured F. K. on the publishing this tragedy.

In this distemper’d age where we do find,
Nothing more wav’ring than the people’s mind,
How they despise religion, break the laws,
Deride at all that’s good, with wild applause,
Cry up what’s bad, and stiffly do maintain
All things went wrong, whilst monarchy did reign.
Canst then expect a pleasing eye from them
Have trampled on the sacred diadem.
I know thou dost not, but ‘tis thy intent
To show what lust and cruelty invent
To compass their designs, teaching this age,
First to reform, and then repeal the stage.
A queen is pictur’d here, whose lustful flame
Was so insatiate, that it wants a name
To speak it forth, seeking to bastardize
Her royal issue that a Moor might rise.
He flatter’d her on purpose to obtain
His ends to sit on th’royal throne of Spain.
Black as his face his deeds appear’d at last
And what he climb’d by, did his ruin hast.
So may they fall, that seek for to betray
And lead the people in an unknown way;
As in a glass, thus we may clearly see,
All vanished that’s built on tyranny.

P. I.

To my esteemed friend Mr. F. K. on his public impression of this tragic poem.

What better subject wings dull time away,
Then an ingenious and a well-writ play;
It doth refine out fancies, judgements, clear,
And fix our souls in a sublime sphere.
I’ll vindicate, if any can deny,
That plays defect of with do oft supply.

John Penrice, Esq.

To my ingenious brother Mr. F. K. on his setting forth this play.

What strange design is this I undertake?
Sure ‘tis no verse that I intend to make.
And yet methinks this play doth me inspire
And all my senses with poetic fire
Does so inflame, that I had Jonson’s quill
To write its worth, whole volumes would I fill.
But I stay you too long; peruse this piece,
You’ll find of language a rich golden fleece
Then thank my friend for publishing this play
Which but for him had never seen the day.

Joseph Philips, Gent.

Proceed to the first scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

