Match Me in London – Act Four, Scene Six

Return to previous scene

Enter QUEEN and TORMIELLA.

QUEEN
Who gave you this?

TORMIELLA
A gentleman of your chamber.

QUEEN
Call in the villain.

Enter MARTINES.

                              Thou audacious serpent!
How dar’st thou wind in knotted curls thy lust
About our honour.  Where hadst thou this letter?

MARTINES
I had it from the king.

QUEEN
Out, impudent traitor!

Enter KING, IAGO, GAZETTO as LUPO, and APHONSO.

 KING
How now at barley-break?  Who art in hell?
What’s that?  To the Queen?  What queen?

QUEEN
Me!  ‘Tis to me!
Your mistress there the messenger; her secretary,
He here.

KING
‘Uds death!

QUEEN
Your trull and he have laid
Trains to blow up mine honour.  I am betray’d.

KING
Lupo, fasten her.

QUEEN
Fasten me!

KING
Iago, see.
Look all; bind fast this devil.  Is there no circle
To be damn’d in but mine?

QUEEN
Slave, let me go.

KING
Oh, thou lustful harlot!

QUEEN
Guard me, heaven.

MARTINES
I’m sold.

QUEEN
Thou villain, speak truth!

KING
Keep her off.

MARTINES
Most basely
Betray’d and baffled.  Is that letter the same
I sent in to the Queen?

TORMIELLA
The very same.

KING
Is this thy hand?

MARTINES
‘Tis, sir, but hear me.

KING
And this thy name, thy hand?

MARTINES
My name, my hand.

QUEEN
Save him and let him spit
His blackest poison forth.

KING
Spare him.  Unhand her.

QUEEN
Let me have justice as thou art a king!

KING
To prison with them both.

QUEEN
As I am thy wife,
Make not thyself a strumpet of me.

KING
Hence, guard her.

QUEEN
I come, heaven, guarded with innocence.                              [Exit.

KING
Follow your mistress, go.

TORMIELLA
Yes, to her grave.
Oh, that I now were swallowed in some wave!                       [Exit.

KING
Oh, that I
Should in a woman’s lap my kingdom lay;
Honour and life, and she should all betray
To a groom, a slave.

IAGO
Let not her poison run
Too near your heart.

KING
Iago, I have done.
Pray, let my grief want company; this wrack
So great shall make th’whole kingdom mourn in black.  [Exeunt Court.
Lupo!

GAZETTO
Did your highness call?

KING
Yes.  Hark thee, Lupo.
It may be th’art a serpent dull of sight;
Be quick of hearing; maybe th’art a hare,
And canst see sideways; let me lock up here
Whatever’s laid in there.

GAZETTO
I am strongly charm’d.

KING
Wilt venture for me?

GAZETTO
To the threshold of hell.

KING
May I trust thee?

GAZETTO
Else employ me not.

KING
Didst ever kill a scorpion?

GAZETTO
Never.  I ha’ been stung by one.

KING
Didst never bait a wild bull?

GAZETTO
That’s the pastime I most love and follow.

KING
A strange disease
Hangs on me and our doctors say the blook
Only of these two beast must do me good.
Dar’st thou attempt to kill them?

GAZETTO
Were they devils
With heads of iron and claws jointed with brass,
Encounter them I shall.  In what park run they?

KING
The Queen that scorpion is.  Tormiella’s husband,
The mad ox broken loose.  In a small volume,
What mischief may be writ!  In a maze.

GAZETTO
No, in a muse.
I’m plotting how to do’t, and to come off.

KING
This does it, but this key burst ope all doors
That can betray thee; done, be sure to rise.
Let a king’s royal breath send thee hence flying.

GAZETTO
As powder does the bullet.

KING
Heap’d up honours
Are schedules to thine enterprise annex’d.
Do it and mount.

GAZETTO
[Aside.] To th’gallows.

KING
[Aside.] Thyself goes next.                                                              [Exit.

GAZETTO
I scorn to be thy bloodhound.
Why should I vex a soul did never grieve me?
The Queen’s an honest lady; should I kill her
It were as if I pull’d a temple down
And from the ruins of that built up a stews.
She lives, but butcher like the ox I’ll use.                                    [Exit.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

