Match Me in London – Act Four, Scene Four

Return to previous scene

Enter TORMIELLA, MALEVENTO and ALPHONSO.

 ALPHONSO
Madam, there’s a fellow stays without to speak with you.

TORMIELLA
With me!

Enter CORDOLENTE, disguised.

ALPHONSO
Your shoemaker, I think.

TORMIELLA
Hast brought my shoes?

CORDOLENTE
Yes, madam.

TORMIELLA
You drew them not on last.

CORDOLENTE
No, madam.  My master that serv’d your last has very good custom, and deals with other ladies as wella s you, but I ahve fitted you  before now.  I should now the length of your foot.

TORMIELLA
I do not remember thee.

CORDOLENTE
I’m sorry you have forgotten me.

TORMIELLA
What shoe was the last you drew on?

CORDOLENTE
A yellow.

TORMIELLA
A yellow!  I never wore that colour.

CORDOLENTE
Yes, madam, by that token when I fitted you first, you wore not your shows so high i’th’instep, but methinks you now go clean awry.

TORMIELLA
A fault I cannot help; many ladies besides me go so.  I hope ‘twill grow to a fashion.

MALEVENTO
Has not that fellow done there?

CORDOLENTE
Yes, sir.  I have now done.  I have a suit to you, madam, that none may be your shoemaker but I.

TORMIELLA
Thy master thou sayse serves me; I should wrong him then.

CORDOLENTE
Yet do you me more wrong.  Oh, my Tormiella!
Is the leaf torn out where our love was writ?
Then I am quite forgot.

TORMIELLA
Softly, my sweet.

CORDOLENTE
Oh, misery!  I make myself a thief
To steal mine own; another at my fire
Sits whiles I shake with cold, I fatten a stranger
And starve myself.

TORMIELLA
Danger throws eyes upon thee;
Thus visit me, watch time for my escape
To any country by thy dearest side;
I’ll lackey the world o’er; I’ll not change
Thee for a thousand kings.  There’s gold.

MALEVENTO
Not yet done?

CORDOLENTE
Yes, sir.  I’m only taking instructions to make her a lower chopeen; she finds fault that she’s lifted too high.

MALEVENTO
The more fool she.

Enter IAGO.

IAGO
The king comes, madam; he enquires for you.

Enter KING, VALASCO, GAZETTO as LUPO, and others.

 KING
My brother John is gone then?

VALASCO
I ha’ bestow’d him as you commanded, in’s grave.

KING
He’s best there.
Except the gods, kings love none whom they fear.
How now!

TORMIELLA
My shoemaker.

KING
Oh, hast fitted her?  So, hence, sir.

CORDOLENTE
As a worm on my belly.  What, should the ant
On his poor mole-hill brave the elephant?
No, Signior, no.
No brains to stay, but saves a head to go.                                 [Exit.

KING
Let me have no more of this; have not we eyes
Pointed like sunbeams?  Go to, get you in.

TORMIELLA
Angel from heaven, fall’n a king’s concubine.                           [Exit.

Enter MARTINES.

MARTINES
May it please your grace—

KING
Ha!

MARTINES
Her highness drown’d in sorrow that your brow
Has been so long contracted into frowns,
Wishing to die unless she see it smooth’d,
Commends her best love to you in this jewel,
The image of her heart.

KING
My Lord Admiral,
My wife’s grown kind, see?

VALASCO
One of the happiest hours
Mine age e’er numbered.  Would your highness now
Would fetch up the red blood her cheeks hath lost
By sending her some symbol of your love.

KING
Pray, step yourself unto her; say I lock
My heart up in your bosom to her use,
And give it her.

VALASCO
I’ll lend it in your name.

KING
Do.

VALASCO
She shall pay her heart for it in interest.                        [Exit.

KING
I’ll see her anon.
Leave us.  Stay you and set that table there.

[Exeunt.  Manent KING and MARTINES.

A chair; none trouble us.  Do you serve the Queen?

MARTINES
Yes, sir.

KING
We know you now; y’are in our eye.
Are the doors fast?

MARTINES
They are, sir.

KING
Nearer yet.
Do not you know of a conspiracy
To take away my life upon Saunt—tush,
No matter for the day.  You know the plot, sir?

MARTINES
By heaven, I know of none!

KING
Blushing does you stain.

MARTINES
It is not guilt but anger.

KING
Y’ave all fix’d
Your hands and seals to an indenture drawn
By such a day to kill me.

MARTINES
For my part,
My loyalty like a rough diamond shines
The more ‘tis cut.  I have no hand in that
Or any baseness else against your life
Or kingdom.

KING
No?

MARTINES
None.

KING
Fetch me ink and paper.
I soon shall try that.  Come, sir, write your name.
Stay; your own words shall choke you; ‘twas a letter
Wrapp’d up in hidden characters and sent
Enclos’d in a pomgranet to a great Don,
And thus subscrib’d, “At your pleasure, your obsequious vassal.”
Write this, and then your name here.

MARTINES
[Writes.] “At your pleasure”—

KING
Thy hand shakes.

MARTINES
No, sir.  [Writes.] “Your obsequious vassal.”

KING
Here, sir, your name now there so low it stood.

MARTINES
[Writes.] “Martines Cazalla de Barameda.”

KING
There’s in thy face to traitor.  I cannot tell.
Good mouths have given thee to me, on your life
Be not you like a wolf’s skin drom to fright
The whole herd by your sound.  I will compare
Your hand with this, that’s all.  But, sir, beware
You prate to none of what ‘twixt us is past.

MARTINES
Were I i’th’world above, I would desire
To come from thence, to give that man the lie,
That once should dare to blot my loyalty.

KING
Here, take this key; meet me some half hour hence
I’th’privy gallery with two naked poniards.

MARTINES
Two poniards.                                                                             [Exit.

Enter GAZETTO as LUPO.

KING
Yes, go send somebody in.  Stay, Lupo,
Can you write?

GAZETTO
Yes.

KING
Indite a letter—‘sdeath, sir—here begin.

GAZETTO
After my hearty commendations, so, sir.

KING
How!  Write, “My most admired mistress.”

GAZETTO
[Writes.] “–mired mistress.”

KING
“With the fire you first kindled in me, still I am burnt.”

GAZETTO
[Writes.] “Still I am burnt.”

KING
“So that thunder shall not hinder me from climbing the highest step of the ladder.”

GAZETTO
[Writes.] “Climbing the highest step of the ladder.”

KING
“Of your perfections, though I be confounded forever.”

GAZETTO
[Writes.] “Be confounded forever.”

KING
“Your high pleasures are mine, mine yours.”

GAZETTO
[Writes.] “Mine yours.”

KING
“And I die everlastingly until I be in your bosom.”

GAZETTO
[Writes.] “And I die—until I be in your bosom.”

KING
So.

GAZETTO
So.

KING
Hold.

GAZETTO
Here, sir.

KING
Where are the gentlemen of our chamber?

GAZETTO
Without, sir.

KING
Bid them attend us close.

GAZETTO
I shall.                                                                               [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

