Match Me in London – Act Five, Scene One

Return to previous scene

Enter KING; at another door VALASCO, MALEVENTO and IAGO.

 MALEVENTO
Oh, royal sir, my daughter Tomiella
Has lost her use of reason and run mad.

KING
When?

MALEVENTO
Not half an hour since.

KING
Mad now! Now frantic!
When all my hopes are at their highest pitch
T’enjoy her beauties!  Take no more; thou liest.

Enter GAZETTO as LUPO.

 GAZETTO
May it please your majesty—

KING
Curses consume thee!  Oh!                                                                 [Strikes.

GAZETTO
It is dispatch’d; the Queen is lost, never to be found.

KING
Wave upon wave.
Hard-hearted furies, when will you dig my grave.
You do not hear him, thunder shakes heaven first
Before dull earth can feel it.
My dear, dearest Queen is dead.

VALASCO
Ha!

OMNES
The Queen dead!

KING
What said she last?

GAZETTO
Commend me to the king,
And tell him this:  mine honour is not wrack’d,
Though his love be.

KING
And so her heart-strings crack’d!

VALASCO
Some trick, upon my life.  State-conjuring
To raise up devils in prisons, and i’th’dark.
If she be dead, I’ll see her.

KING
Villainous man,
Thou see what we have enjoy’d, thou impudent fool
Away, Iago, give this tumbling whale
Empty barrels to play with till this troublous seas,
Which he more raging makes, good heaven appease.

VALASCO
Well, I say nothing.  Birds in cages mourn
At first, but as last sing.  I will take my turn.                            [Exit.

KING
My Queen dead!  I shall now have rhyming slaves
Libel upon us giving her innocent wings;
But say we murdered her, scandal dare strike kings.
Then here’s another moon of Spain eclips’d,
One whom our best lov’d Queen put in her bosom,
For sweetness of pure life, integrity,
And, in court beauties wondrous, honesty.
She’s mad too, Lupo, Tormiella’s mad!

GAZETTO
Mad!

IAGO
[Aside.] As a March whore.

GAZETTO
Mad, shall I work upon her?

KING
Use thy skill.                                                                          [Exit GAZETTO.

IAGO
I would to heaven your highness—

KING
Ha!  The Queen!  Was she not at my elbow?

OMNES
Here was nothing.

KING
I must not live thus, Iago, if I lie
After the kingly fashion without a woman
I shall run mad at midnight.  I will marry
The lunatic lady, she shall be my queen.
Proclaim her so.

IAGO
Your highness does but jest!

KING
All the world’s frantic, mad with mad are best.                                [Exit.

IAGO
Wretched state of kings, that standing high,
Their faults are marks shot at by every eye.                                 [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

