Match Me in London – Act Five, Scene Five

Return to previous scene

Flourish.  Enter KING, TORMIELLA, VALASCO, MALEVENTO and ALPHONSO.

KING
Has heaven left chiding yet?  There’s in thy voice
A thunder that worse frights me.  Didst thou swear
In bed to kill me had I married thee?

TORMIELLA
It was my vow to do so.

KING
And did that villain,
That Lupo Vindicado’s thrust this vengeance
Into the desperate hand?

TORMIELLA
That villain swore me
To speed you.  I had died else.  Me had he murdered
When in a doctor’s shape e came to cure
The madness which in me was counterfeit
Only to sun your touches.

KING
Strange preservation.

Enter IAGO, GAZETTO, and CORDOLENTE.

 VALASCO
Here comes the traitor!

KING
Devil, didst thou tempt this woman ‘gainst my life?

GAZETTO
Has she betray’d me?  Yes.  Hence antic visors.
I’ll now appear myself.                                                [Reveals himself.

MALEVENTO
Gazetto!

GAZETTO
The same.

CORDOLENTE
I ha’ warm’d a snake in my bosom.

MALEVENTO
This is he
To whom by promise of my mouth, not hers,
Tormiella should ha’ been married, but flying him
To run away with this, he in disguise
Has followed both thus long to be reveng’d.

GAZETTO
And were not my hands tied by your prevention
I should go forward yet; my plot lay there,
King, to have her kill thee; this cuckold her,
Then had I made him hawks-meat.

VALASCO
Bloody varlet!

KING
Rare providence, I thank thee.  What a heap
Of mischiefs have I brought upon my kingdom
By one base act of lust, and my greatest horror
Is that for her I made away my Queen.
By this destroyer’s hand, this crimson hell-hound
That laughs at nothing but fresh villainies.

GAZETTO
The laughing days I wish’d for are now come, sir.
I am glad that leaping into such a gulf
I am not drown’d.  Your Queen lives!

KING
Ha!

GAZETTO
She lives.
I had no reason to kill her.

VALASCO
A better spirit
Stood at his elbow than you planted there.
My poor girl, your sad Queen breathes yet.

KING
Long may she!
Fetch her; commend me to her, cheer her, father.

VALASCO
With the best heart I have.                                                                       [Exit.

KING
Let that sly bawd,
Engine of hell, who wrought upon thy chastity,
Be whipp’d through Seville; four such tempting witches
May undo a city.  Come, you wronged pair,
By a king that parted you, you new married are.
Enjoy each other and prosper.

CORDOLENTE
I do already,
Feeling more joys than on my wedding day;
I ne’er till now was married.

TORMIELLA
Nor I ever happy until this hour.

MALEVENTO
Nor I, as I am true lord.

KING
No, sir, y’are no true lord; you have a title,
A face of honour as in courts many have,
For base and servile prostitutions,
And you are such a one; your daughter’s fall
Was first step to your rising, and her rising
Again to that sweet goodness she never went from
Must be your fall, and strip you of all honours.
Your lordship is departed.

MALEVENTO
Does the bell ring out?  I care not.
Your kingdom was a departing too; I had a place in court for nothing and if it be gone, I can lose nothing.  I ha’ been like a lord in a play, and that done, my part ends.

KING
Yes, sir.  I purge my court of such infection.

MALEVENTO
I shall find company i’th’city I warrant.  I am not the first hath given up my cloak of honour.                                                                                                                         [Exit.

Enter VALASCO, JOHN, and QUEEN.

 KING
Oh, my abused heart, thy pardon!  See,
I have sent home my stol’n goods.

QUEEN
Honestly!

KING
As she was ever, now with full clear eyes
I see thy beauty, and strange cheeks despise.

QUEEN
You call me from a grave of shame and sorrow
In which I lay deep buried.

JOHN
From a grave likewise
Your majesty calls me.  I have looked back
On all my poor ambitions, and am sorry
That I fell ever from so bright a sphere
As it the love of such a royal brother.

KING
Be as you speak; we are friends.  It was our will
To let you know, we can or save or kill.

JOHN
Your mercy new transforms me.

KING
Sirrah, your saving
My Queen when I confess, lust me so blinded,
I would have gladly lost her, gives thee life.

QUEEN
First I thank heaven, then him, and at last you.

GAZETTO
I had not the heart to hurt a woman.  If I had, your little face had meen mall’d ere this, but my anger’s out.  Forgive me.

TORMIELLA
With all my heart.

KING
Pray, noble brother, love this man; he’s honest.
I ha’ made of him good proof.  We should have had
A wedding, but heaven frown’d at it, and I
Am glad ‘tis cross’d.  Yet we’ll both feast and dance.
Our fame hath all this while lain in a trance.
Come, Tormiella, well were that city blest
That with but two such women should excel;
But there’s so few good, th’ast no parallel.                                                         [Exeunt.

F I N I S.

Return to Dekker page

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

