Match Me in London – Act One, Scene Two

Return to previous scene

Enter CORDOLENTE and TORMIELLA.

 CORDOLENTE
No more, my Tormiella.  Night hath borne
Thy vows to heaven where they are fill’d by this,
Or, if thou spot it with foul perjury,
For ever to condemn thee.

TORMIELLA
Come, it shall not.
Here am I sphere’d forever.  Thy fears, dear love,
Strike coldly on thy jeaous breast, I know
From that my father’s promise to Gazetto
That he should have me.  Contract is there none,
For my heart loath’d it.  Is there left an oath
Fit for a maid to swear by?

CORDOLENTE
Good, sweet, give o’er.
What need we bidning oaths being fast before
I dare the crabbedst Fate she cannot spin
A thread thus fine and rotten.  How now, sad?

TORMIELLA
Pray heaven I be not miss’d at home, dear Cordolente.
Thou shalt to farther.  I’ll venture now myself.

CORDOLENTE
How, sweet?  Venture alone?

TORMIELLA
Yes, yes, good rest.

CORDOLENTE
By that are lovers parted, seldom bless’d.

Enter BILBO.

 BILBO
Who goes there?  If you be a woman, stand, for all the men I met tonight lie in the kennel.

TORMIELLA
My father’s man!  I am betray’d.

CORDOLENTE
Fear nothing.

TORMIELLA
Bilbo!
Wither art thou running?

BILBO
Out of my wits and yet no churl’s executor.  ‘Tis not money makes me mad, but want of money.

TORMIELLA
Good, tell me whether art going?

BILBO
I am going to hell, that’s to say, home, for my master plays the devil, and I come from seeking out a  house of everlasting thunder, that’s to say, a woman.  I have been bouncing at Signior Gazetto’s chamber for you.

TORMIELLA
Ha!

BILBO
You’ll he ha’d when you come home.

TORMIELLA
I am undone forever!

CORDOLENTE
Thou art not.  Peace.

BILBO
Signior Gazetto is horn-mad and leap’d out of his bed, as if fleas had bit him, so that I think he comes running stark naked after me.

TORMIELLA
Oh me!  What help, my dearest soul?

CORDOLENTE
To desperate wounds
Let’s apply desperate cure.  Dar’st thou fly hence?

TORMIELLA
Dare!  Try me.

CORDOLENTE
Then farewell, Cordova.
Horses we’ll forthwith hire and quick to Seville,
My birthplace.  There thou shalt defy all storms.

TORMIELLA
Talk not, but do.

BILBO
She would have you do much but say little.

TORMIELLA
Bilbo, thou seest me not.

BILBO
No, no, away.  Mum, I.

CORDOLENTE
To shut thy lips fast, here are locks of gold.

BILBO
I spy a light coming.  Trudge this way.

TORMIELLA
You dally with fire.  Haste, haste!  Bilbo, farewell.

CORDOLENTE
O, star-cross’d love!
To find way to whose heaven made wades through hell.   [Exeunt.  Manet BILBO.

Enter GAZETTO.

 GAZETTO
What, ho, ho, ho.  Whew!

BILBO
Another fire-drake!  More salamanders!  Here, sir.

GAZETTO
Bilbo!  How now!
Is the dy-dapper above water yet?

BILBO
Signior Gazetto!  Mine ears are no bigger than little pin’s heads with staring, my heels ache with trotting, my candle is come to an untimely end through a consumption, yet my young mistress, your sweetheart, like sweet breath amongst tobacco-drinkers, is not to be found.

GAZETTO
On; take my torch; apace.  The near’st way home
Fluttering abroad by owl-light.

BILBO
Here, sir, turn down this lane.  Shall I knock your torch, Signior?

GAZETTO
Prithee, do what thou wilt. The devil!  Where is she?

BILBO
Had you knock’d your torch well before Tormiella—‘ware the post—and held it well up when it was lighted, she had never given you the slip, and i’faith, Signior, when is the day?

GAZETTO
The wedding, meanst thou, on Saint Luke’s day next.
‘Tis mine own name thou knowst; but now I fear
She’s lost, and the day too.

BILBO
If she should drive you by foul weather into cuckold’s heaven before Saint Luke’s day comes, Signior Luco, how then?

GAZETTO
If she dares let her, I have her father’s promise,
Nay oath, that I shall have her.

BILBO
Here is my master’s gate.

GAZETTO
Stay, she’s at home sure now; I’ll slip aside;
Knock thou, and if she answers, as ‘tis likely,
We’ll try if still th’old fencing be in use,
That faulty women never want excuse.

BILBO
They are made for the purpose to lie and colour.
I’ll knock.                                                                                           [Knocks.

MALEVENTO
[Within.] Who’s there?

BILBO
‘Tis I.  Open the door.

MALEVENTO
What!  To a common!

BILBO
What, common!  You do me wrong, sir.  Though I go in breeches, I am not the roaring girl you take me for.

MALEVENTO
Wert thou with Gazetto?

BILBO
Yes.

MALEVENTO
Was she with Gazetto?

BILBO
No.

MALEVENTO
Was Gazetto alone?

BILBO
No, sir.  I was with him.

MALEVENTO
Fool, knew not he she was forth?

BILBO
Yes, when I told him.

GAZETTO
Signoir Malevento, open the door, pray.

Enter MALEVENTO.

 MALEVENTO
Oh, Luke Gazetto!

GAZETTO
Not yet come home!

MALEVENTO
No, no.

GAZETTO
Not yet!  ‘Ud’s death!
When I shall take the villain does this wrong,
H’ad better stol’n away a star from heaven.
No Spaniard sure does dare it.

BILBO
‘Tis some Englishman has stol’n her, I hold my life, for most thieves and bravest cony-catcers are amongst them.

GAZETTO
All Cordova search ere morning; if not found
I’ll ride to Seville.  I’ll mount my jennet, sir,
And take the way to Madrill.

MALEVENTO
Ne’er speak of Madrill.
The journey is for her too dangerous.
If Cordova hold her not, let’s all to Seville.
Haste, haste, by break of day, Signior Gazetto,
Let us meet again.

GAZETTO
Agreed.

MALEVENTO
We’ll hunt her out.                                                                                            [Exit.

BILBO
But you know not when.  Will you take your torch?                                [Exit.

GAZETTO
Keep it.  A lustful maiden!
Hot Spanish vengeance follows thee, which flies
Like three-fork’d lightning; whom it smites, he dies.                                [Exit.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

