Match Me in London – Act One, Scene Three

Enter JOHN all unready, and PACHECO, his page

JOHN
Pacheco?

PACHECO
My lord?

JOHN
Is’t so early? What a’clock is’t?

PACHECO
About the hour that soldiers go to bed, and catchpoles rise. Will your lordship be truss’d up this morning?

JOHN
How dost mean? Go to hanging?

PACHECO
Hanging! Does your lordship take me for a crack-rope?

JOHN
No, but for a notable gallows. Too many lordships are truss’d up every day, boy; some would give a thousand crowns to have ‘em unti’d. But come, sir, tie up my lordship.

PACHECO
As fast as I can. Oh, my lord, and a man could tie friends to him as fast as I do these points, ‘twere a brave world!

JOHN
So he does, for these are fast now, and loose at night.

PACHECO
Then they are like the love of a woman.

JOHN
What, boy! Do you know what the love of a woman is?

PACHECO
No, faith, my lord, nor your neither, nor any man else, I think.

JOHN
Y’are a noble villain.

PACHECO
Would I were, then I should be rich.

JOHN
Well, get you gone.                                                                               [Exit PACHECO.
Here’s a brave file of noble Portugal’s
Have sworn to help me. It’s hard trusting strangers;
Nay more, to give them footing in a land
Is easy; hard to remove them. Say they and I
Should send my brother king out of this world
And enthrone me, for that’s the star I reach at;
I must have Spain mine, more than Portugal.
Say that the dons and grandees were mine own,
And that I had the keys of the court gates
Hang at my girdle, in my hand the crown;
There’s yet no lifting it up to my head
Without the people. I must ride that beast,
And best sit fast. Who walks not to his throne
Upon their heads and hands, goes but alone.
This dogfish must I catch then, the queen’s father.
Pedro Valasco. What if I got him!
It’s but a shallow old fellow, and to build
On the great’st, wisest statesman in a design
Of this high daring is most dangerous.
We see the tops of tall trees, not their heart.
To find that sound or rotten, there’s the art.

Enter IAGO.

How now, Iago?

IAGO
Good morrow to your lordship.
The king looks for you; you must come presently.

JOHN
Well, sir. Must come! So,
As I must come, so he ere long must go.                                         [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

