The Noble Spanish Soldier – Act 5, Scene 4

Return to previous scene

A banquet set out, cornets sounding; enter at one door LOPEZ, VALASCO, ALANZO, NO; after them KING, CARDINAL, with DON COCKADILLIO, bridegroom, QUEEN and MALATESTE after.  At the other door, ALBA, CARLO, RODERIGO, MEDINA and DÆNIA leading ONÆLIA as bride, CORNEGO and JUENNA after, BALTAZAR alone.  Bride and Bridegroom kiss, and by the CARDINAL are join’d hand in hand; KING is very merry, hugging MEDINA very lovingly.

 KING
For half Spain’s weight in ingots, I’d not lose
This little man today.

MEDINA
Nor for so much
Twice told, sir, would I miss your kingly presence.;
Mine eyes have lost th’acquaintance of your face
So long, and I so, little, late read o’er
That index of the royal book your mind
That scarce, without your comment, can I tell
When in those leaves you turn o’er smiles or frowns.

KING
‘Tis dimness of your sight, no fault i’th letter;
Medina, you shall find that free from erratas
And for a proof,
If I could breath my heart in welcoms forth,
This hall should ring naught else.  Welcome, Medina.
Good Marquess Dænia, dons of Spain, all welcome.
My dearest love and queen, be it your place
To entertain the bride, and do her grace.

QUEEN
With all the love I can, whose fire is such
To give her heart, I cannot burn too much.

KING
Contracted bride and bridegroom, sit.
Sweet flowers not pluck’d in season, lost their scent,
So will our pleasures.  Father Cardinal,
Methinks this morning new begins our reign.

CARDINAL
Peace had her Sabbath ne’er till now in Spain.

KING
Where is our noble soldier Baltazar?
So close in conference with that Signior?

NO
No.

KING
What thinkst thou of this day, Baltazar?

BALTAZAR
Of this day?  Why, as of a new play, if it ends well, all’s well.  All men are but actors; now if you being the king, should be out of your part, or the Queen out of hers, or your dons out of theirs, here’s No will never be out of his.

NO
No.

BALTAZAR
“Twere a lamentable piece of stuff to see great statesmen vile exits; but I hope there are nothing but plaudities in all your eyes.

KING
Mine I protest are free.

QUEEN
And mine by heaven.

MALATESTE
[Aside.] Free from one good look till the blow be given.

KING
Wine!  A full cup crown’d to Medina’s health.

MEDINA
Your highness this day so much honours me,
That I to pay you what I truly owe,
My life shall venture for it.

DÆNIA
So shall mine.

KING
Onælia, you are sad.  Why frowns your brow?

ONÆLIA
A foolish memory of my past ills
Folds up my look in furrows of old care,
But my heart’s merry, sir.

KING
Which mirth to heighten
Your bridegroom and yourself first pledge this health
Which we begin to our high constable.

[Three cups fill’d:  1. To the KING, 2. To the Bridegroom, 3. To ONÆLIA, with whom the KING compliments.

 QUEEN
Is’t speeding?

MALATESTE
As all our Spaish figs are.

KING
Here’s to Medina’s heart with all my heart.

MEDINA
My heart shall pledge your heart i’th’deepest draught
That ever Spaniard drank.

KING
Medina mocks me,
Because I wrong her with the largest bowl.
I’ll change with thee, Onælia.                                                         [MALATESTE rages.

QUEEN
Sir, you shall not!

KING
Fear you I cannot fetch it off?

QUEEN
Malateste!

KING
This is your scorn to her, because I am doing
This poorest honour to her.  Music sound,
It goes were it ten fadoms to the ground.

[Cornets.  KING drinks.  QUEEN and MALATESTE storms.

 MALATESTE
Fate strikes with the wrong weapon.

QUEEN
Sweet royal sir, no more, it is too deep.

MALATESTE
‘Twill hurt your health, sir.

KING
Interrupt me in my drink?  ‘Tis off!

MALATESTE
Alas, sir,
You have drunk your last; that poison bowl I fill’d
Not to be put into your hand, but hers.

KING
Poison’d!

OMNES
Descend, black speckl’d soul to hell!                                [Kills MALATESTE.

MALATESTE
The Queen has sent me thither.                                                                           [Dies.

CARDINAL
What new fury shakes now her snake’s locks?

QUEEN
Ay, ay, ‘tis I;
Whose soul is torn in pieces, till I send
This harlot home.

CARDINAL
More murders!  Save the lady!

BALTAZAR
Rampant?  Let the constable make a mittimus.

MEDINA
Keep ‘em asunder.

CARDINAL
How is it, royal son?

KING
I feel no poison yet, only mine eyes
Are putting out their lights.  Methinks I feel
Death’s icy fingers stroking down my face,
And not I’m in a mortal cold sweat.

QUEEN
Dear my lord!

KING
Hence, call in my physicians.

MEDINA
Thy physician, tyrant,
Dwells yonder.  Call on him or none.

KING
Bloody Medina, stabst thou Brutus too?

DÆNIA
As he is, so are we all.

KING
I burn,
My brains boil in a caldron.  Oh, one drop
Of water now to cool me.

ONÆLIA
Oh, let him have physicians!

MEDINA
Keep her back.

KING
Physicians for my soul, I need none else;
You’ll not deny me those.  Oh, holy father
Is there no mercy hovering in a cloud
For me a miserable king so drench’d
In perjury and murder?

CARDINAL
Oh, sir, great store.

KING
Come down, come quickly down.

CARDINAL
I’ll forthwith send
For a grave friar to be your confessor.

KING
Do, do.

CARDINAL
And he shall cure your wounded soul.
Fetch him, good soldier.

BALTAZAR
So good a work, I’ll hasten.                                            [Exit.

KING
Onælia!  Oh she’s drown’d in tears!  Onælia,
Let me not die unpardoned at thy hands.

Enter BALTAZAR, SEBASTIAN as a Friar, with others.

 CARDINAL
Here comes a better surgeon.

SEBASTIAN
Hail, my good son.
I come to be thy ghostly confessor.

KING
Ha?
My child!  ‘Tis my Sebastian, or some spirit
Sent in his shape to fright me.

 BALTAZAR
‘Tis no gobling, sir, feel; your own flesh and blood, and much younger than you though be be bald, and calls you son; had I been as ready to ha’ cut his sheep’s throat, as you were to send him to the shambles, he had bleated no more; there’s less chalk upon your score of sins by these round o’es.

 KING
Oh, my dull soul look up, thou art somewhat lighter.
Noble Medina, see Sebastian lives;
Fetch me my crown.  My sweetest pretty friar,
Can my hands do’t, I’ll raise thee one step higher.
Th’ast been in heaven’s house all this while, sweet boy?

SEBASTIAN
I had but course cheer.

KING                            Thou couldst ne’er fare better.
Religious houses are those hives, where bees
Make honey for men’s souls.  I tell thee, boy,
A friary is a cube, which strongly stands
Fashioned by men, supported by heaven’s hands.
Orders of holy priesthood as as high
I’th eyes of angels, as a king’s dignity.
Both these unto a crown give the full weight,
And both are thine.  You that our contract know,
See how I seal it with his marriage;
My blessing and Spain’s kingdom both be thine.

OMNES
Long live Sebastian!

ONÆLIA
Doff that friar’s course gray;
And since he’s crown’d a king, clothe him like one.

KING
Oh no.  Those are right sovereign ornaments.
Had I been cloth’d so, I had never fill’d
Spain’s chronicle with my black calumny.
My work is almost finish’d.  Where’s my queen?

QUEEN
Here, piecemeal torn by Furies.

KING
Onælia!
Your hand, Paulina, too, Onælia yours.
This hand, the pledge of my twice broken faith,
By you usurp’d in her inheritance.
My love is turn’d, see as my fate is turn’d,
This they today laugh, yesterday which mourn’d,
I pardon thee my death;  let he be sent
Back into Florence with a treble dowry;
Death comes; oh, now I see what late I fear’d!
A contract broke, though pieced up ne’er so well,
Heaven sees, earth suffers, but it ends in hell.                                                 [Moritur.

ONÆLIA
Oh, I could die with him!

QUEEN
Since the bright sphere
I mov’d in falls, alas what make I here?                                                                 [Exit.

MEDINA
The hammers of black mischief now cease beating,
Yet some irons still are heating.  You, Sir Bridegroom,
Set all this while up as a mark to shoot at,
We here discharge you of your bedfellow,
She loves no Barbar’s washing.

COCKADILLIO
My balls are sav’d then.

MEDINA
Be it your charge, so please you revered sir,
To see the late Queen safely sent to Florence.
My niece Onælia and that trusty soldier,
We do appoint to guard the infant king.
Other distractions Time must reconcile.
The state is poisn’d like a crocodile.                                                                  [Exeunt.

F I N I S.

Return to Dekker page

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

