The Noble Spanish Soldier – Act 2, Scene 2

Return to previous scene

Enter ONÆLIA one way, CORNEGO another.

 CORNEGO
Madam, there’s a bear without to speak with you.

ONÆLIA
A bear?

CORNEGO
It’s a man all hair, and that’s as bad.

ONÆLIA
Who is’t?

CORNEGO
‘Tis one Master Captain Baltazar.

ONÆLIA
I do not know that Baltazar.

CORNEGO
He desires to see you, and if you love a water-spanial before he be shorne, see him.

ONÆLIA
Let him come in.

Enter BALTAZAR.

 CORNEGO
Hist; a duke, a duck.  There she is, sir.

 BALTAZAR
A soldier’s good wish bless you, lady.

 ONÆLIA
Good wishes are most welcome, sir, to me,
So many bad ones blast me.

 BALTAZAR
Do you not know me?

 ONÆLIA
I scarce know my self.

 BALTAZAR
I ha’ been at tennis, madam, with the king.  I gave him fifteen and all his faults, which is much, and now i come to toss a ball with you.

 ONÆLIA
I am bandied too much up and down already.

 CORNEGO
Yes, she has been struck under line, master soldier.

 BALTAZAR
I conceit you, dare you trust yourself alone with me?

 ONÆLIA
I have been laden with such weights of wrong,
That heavier cannot press me.  Hence, Cornego.

 CORNEGO
‘Hence, Cornego?’ ‘Stay, captain?’ When man and woman are put together, some egg of villainy is sure to be sat upon.                                        [Exit.

 BALTAZAR
What would you say to him should kill this man
That hath you so dishonoured?

 ONÆLIA
Oh I would crown him
With thanks, praise, gold, and tender of my life.

 BALTAZAR
Shall I be that German fencer, and beat all the knocking boys before me?  Shall I kill him?

 ONÆLIA
There’s music in the tongue that dares but speak it.

 BALTAZAR
That fiddle then is in me, this arm can do’s, by poniard, poison, or pistol.  But shall I do’t indeed?

 ONÆLIA
One step to human bliss is sweet revenge.

 BALTAZAR
Stay; what made you love him?

 ONÆLIA
His most goodly shape
Married to royal virtues of his mind.

 BALTAZAR
Yet now you would divorce all that goodness.  And why?  For a little lechery of revenge?  It’s a lie.  The burr that sticks in your throat is a throne; let him out of his mess of kingdoms cut out but one, and lay Sicilia, Aragon, Naples, or any else upon your trencher, and you’ll praise bastard for the sweetest wine in the world, and call for another quart of it.  ‘Tis not because the man has left you, but because you are not the woman you would be that mads you.  A she-cuckold is an untameable monster.

 ONÆLIA
Monster of men thou art.  Thou bloody villain,
Traitor to him who never injur’d thee.
Dost thou profess arms, and art bound in honour
To stand up like a brazen wall to guard
Thy king and country, and wouldst thou ruin both?

 BALTAZAR
You spur me on to’t.

 ONÆLIA
True;
Worse am I then the horridst fiend in hell
To murder him whom once I lov’d too well;
For though I could run mad, and tear my hair,
And kill that godless man that turn’d me vile,
Though I am cheated by a perjurous prince
Who has done wickedness, at which even heaven
Shakes when the sun beholds it; O yet I’d rather
Ten thousand poison’d poniards stab’d my breast
Than one should touch his.  Bloody slave!  I’ll play
Myself the hangman, and will butcher thee
If thou but prickst his finger.

 BALTAZAR
Saist thou me so?  Give me thy goll, thou art a noble girl!  I did play the devil’s part, and roar in a feigned voice, but I am the honestest devil that ever spet fire.  I would not drink that infernal draught of a king’s blood, to go reeling to damnation for the weight of the world in diamonds.

 ONÆLIA
Art thou not counterfeit?

 BALTAZAR
Now, by my scars, I am not.

 ONÆLIA
I’ll call thee honest soldier then, and woo thee
To be an often visitant.

 BALTAZAR
Your servant;
Yet must I be a stone upon a hill,
For though I do no good, I’ll not lie still.                                                            [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

