The Weakest Goeth to the Wall – Scene 9

Return to the previous scene

Enter FREDERICK as FERDINAND and ODILLIA.

 FERDINAND
If you be able to endure the way
Till we have passed Brabant, we will on;
But, madam, if you hardly brook your travel,
We’ll take the right-hand way into the forest,
Where we shall shroud us secretly till night.

ODILLIA
Let us not stay near to my father’s court.
Not for a world I would not hazard thee;
No world could save if taken thou shouldst be.
Methinks ’tis long before the sun arise.

FERDINAND
Ah, it is long, Odillia, of thine eyes,
Who, slumb’ring still, imagines it is night,
And that the shining is his sister’s light.

ODILLIA
No, ’tis the moon, sweet Ferdinand, I see,
Keeps back her brother still to look on thee.

FERDINAND
I marvel not, poor light, if she decline,
When my Ordilla doth so early shine.

ODILLIA
Come, come, sweet love.  Oh, I am full of fear.
Be I the moon; thine arm must be my sphere.

FERDINAND
Oh, were I heaven, thou ever shouldst shine there.                     [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

