The Weakest Goeth to the Wall – Scene 6

Return to previous scene

Enter EMMANUEL with LEONTIUS.

 EMMANUEL
Could I not resolve myself sufficiently
He should not stay one hour in my court,
But I have noted in her from her birth
A strange innated kind of courtesy,
An affable inclining lenity,
With such a virgin meekness to regard,
As may abuse, a wife and grounded censure
In judging of affection and of honour.

LEONTIUS
Pardon me, gracious lord, I speak it not
In any sort to wrong your princely daughter,
Or to impeach your judgement anywise
In your opinion of the gentleman,
But as a just and honest subject should
In matters that concern my trust so much.

EMMANUEL
Nor as I am a prince I think thou dost.
I have so good assurance of thy love,
Which may I trust, induce thee to resolve me
From what conceit proceeds thy strong surmise.

LEONTIUS
This other day, for hunting of the stag,
Attending fair Odillia to the forest,
Whenas the hounds had rous’d the trembling deer,
And every man spurr’d hard unto the cry,
Riding along a goodly covert side,
The company all straggling here and there,
Only the princess and young Ferdinand,
Curbing their steeds in which their silken reins,
Into a grove rode secretly together.
Thrice did I see him kiss her showy hand,
And with three humble curtsies bow’d his head
Down to the stirrup of Odillia.
Then did I see him whisper in her ear,
When with her fan she won the wanton wind
To cool his face as they rode gently on.
Then came they to a little purling brook
Whereas they paus’d, as it should seem to hear
The birds’ sweet music to the bubbling stream.
Then did I see him lift his eyes towards hers,
Taking her glove which lay upon her lap,
A thousant time did reverence to the same,
And in his baldric wrapp’d it choicely up;
When as she pluck’d a bloomed lemon branch
With her white hand out of her coronet,
And with her fingers twin’d it in his lock,
And smil’d, and bow’d her head into his bosom.
And thus, with gentle parlance, both together
They pacen on, unto the flowery lawn.

EMMANUEL
If this be not surmis’d which thou reportst,
It should be sign of some affection.

LEONTIUS
I’ll not enforce it on your excellence
By circumstance, but only this I saw.

EMMANUEL
Where’s Ferdinando?  Saw you him of late?

LEONTIUS
Lord Strossy and your daughter be at chess,
And they saw him, but even very now.

EMMANUEL
Go call them hither presently to me.

LEONTIUS
I trust you will not urge me in the matter?

EMMANUEL
Go to, I will not.                                                                           [Exit LEONTIUS.
How now, a villain that I found by chance
To court my only daughter and my heir?
And having thus reviv’d him by my favours,
Will the vile viper sting me for my love?

Enter LEONTIUS, ODILLIA, and FR’dERICK, as FERDINAND.  FERDINANDO kneels.

Sirrah, come hither.  Didst thou never hear
How first I found thee, being but a child,
Hid in the s’dges fast by a riverside,
As it should seem, of purpose to be lost;
Being so young that thou hadst not the sense
To tell thy name of of what place thou wast?

FERDINAND
I have heard your lordship ofen so report it.

EMMANUEL
Did thy adult-rous parents cast thee off,
As it should seem, ashamed of thy birth;
And have I made a nursery of my court
To foster thee, and grown to what thou art,
Enrich thee with my favors everywhere;
That from the loathsome mud from whence thou camest,
Thou art so bold out of thy buzzard’s nest
To gaze upon the sun of her perfections?
Is there no beauty that can plese  your eye
But the divine and speldent excellence
Of my beloved, dear Ordillia?
How darest thou but with trembling and with fear
Look up toward the heaven of her high grace,
And even astonish’d with the admiration,
Let fall thy gaudy plumes of thy proud heart?
Dare any wretch so vile and so obscure
Attempt the honour of so great a princess?

FERNINAND
Hear me, my lord–

ODILLIA
Nay, hear me, princely father,
For what you speak to him concerns me most.
Never did he attempt to wrong mine honour,
Nor did his tongue e’re utter yet one accent
But what a virgin’s ear might safely hear.
I never saw him exercise himself
In any place where I myself was present,
But with such a graceful, midest bashfulness
As well beseemed both his youth and duty.
I never saw him yet presume my presence,
But with a low, subjected reverence,
A brow as humble as humility.
And when I have enforced him to speak
In anything I had employ’d him in,
His words have been in such an humble key
As silence would have told a secret in.
But if his service to me be suspected,
Attending me to help me to my horse,
Or bent my bow when I have shot a deer,
Discourse of nations, play’d at maw and chess,
Or led me by the arm when I had walk’d,
If this may breed suspicion of my love,
I cannot keep the tongue of jealousy.

FERDINAND
When did I ever but approace the place
Where she hath been,  but kneeling to the earth,
As if the ground were holy where she trode?
When was I seen to gaze once in her glass,
For fear the crystal wherein she beheld her
Should tell my disobedience to her eyes?
When was i seen to smell but to a flower
To which the princes had  but smell’d before,
As far unworthy that my snse shout taste
So rich an odor as had pleased hers?
When was I seen to look once in her face,
But as a man beholding of the sun,
That cast his head down dazzled with his rays?
I never nam’d that name Odillia,
But with such worship and such reverence,
As to an angel, if he should appear.
Her have I lov’d for fear and fear’d for love,
For I adore divine Odillia.

EMMANUEL
Ferdinand, thy humble and submissive carriage
Hath satisfied me fully at this time.
And my Odillia, take’t not in ill part
That too much love breaks out into suspicion.
It is the fault of love, Odillia,
And hath his pardon as it doth offend.
Then come, Leontius, you and I’ll away.
Go back, Odillia, and attend your play.   [Exeunt EMMANUEL and LEONTIUS.

FERDINAND
Madam, you see that jealousy attends
Upon the hours of our successful love.
What is your princely pleasure with my service?
I fear suspicion but too much espies;
I see that trees had ears ad bushes eyes.

ODILLIA
Dear Ferdinand, provide then for our flight.
I regard nothing in respect of thee.
Only be constant and I’ll go with thee
In all the ways that fortune can direct.
Go, get you  hence; I will attend my sport.
Much is to do and time is very short.                                            [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

