Sir Thomas More – Act 4, Scene 3

Return to previous scene

Enter the BISHOP OF ROCHESTER, SURREY, SHREWSBURY, Lieutenant of the Tower, and Warders with weapons.

 ROCHESTER
Your kind persuasions, honourable lords,
I can but thank ye for, but in this breast
There lives a soul, that aims at higher things
Than temporary pleasing earthly kings.
God bless his highness, even with all my heart,
We shall meet one day, though that now we part.

SURREY
We not misdoubt your wisdom can discern
What best befits it, yet in love and zeal
We could entreat it would be otherwise.

SHREWSBURY
No doubt your fatherhood will by yourself
Consider better of the presant case,
And grow as great in favour as before.

ROCHESTER
For that, as pleaseth God, in my restraint
From worldly causes, I shall better see
Into myself than at proud liberty.
The Tower and I will privately confer
Of things wherein at freedom I may err.
But I am troublesome unto your honours,
And to your happy private thoughts bequeath ye.
Master Lieutenant, I am now you charge,
And though you keep my body, yet my love
Waits on my king and you, wile Fisher lives.

SURREY
Farewell, my Lord of Rochester, we’ll pray
For your release, and labour’t as we may.

SHREWSBURY
Thereof assure yourself.  So do we leave ye,
And to your happy private thoughts bequeath ye.               [Exeunt Lords.

ROCHESTER
Now, Master Lieutenant, on, a God’s name go,
And with as glad a mind go I with you,
As ever truant bade the school adieu.                                          [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

