The Shoemaker’s Holiday – Act 3, Scene 3

Return to previous scene

Enter LORD MAYOR, EYRE, MARGERY in a French hood,
ROSE, SYBIL and other Servants.

 LORD MAYOR
Trust me, you are as welcome to Old Ford
As I myself.

MARGERY
Truly, I thank your Lordship.

LORD MAYOR
Would our bad cheer were worth the thanks you give.

EYRE
Good cheer, my Lord Mayor, fine cheer; a fine house, fine walls, all fine and neat.

LORD MAYOR
Now, by my troth, I’ll tell thee, Master Eyre,
It does me good, and all my brethren,
That such a madcap fellow as thyself
Is entered into our society.

MARGERY
Ay, but, my Lord, he must learn now to put on gravity.

EYRE
Peace, Maggy, a fig for gravity!  When I go to Guildhall in my scarlet gown, I’ll look as demurely as a saint, and speak as gravely as a justice of peace; but now I am here at Old Ford, at my good lord Mayor’s house, let it go by, vanish, Maggy.  I’ll be merry:  away with flip-flap, these fooleries, these gulleries!  What, honey?  Prince am I none, yet am I princely born.  What says my Lord Mayor?

LORD MAYOR
Ha, ha, ha!  I had rather than a thousand pound
I had an heart but half so light as yours.

EYRE
Why, what should I do, my Lord?  A pound of care pays not a dram of debt.  Hum, let’s be merry whiles we are young:  old age, sack and sugar, will steal upon us ere we be aware.

LORD MAYOR
It’s well done.  Mistress Eyre, pray give good counsel to my daughter.

MARGERY
I hope Mistress Rose will have the grace to take nothing that’s bad.

LORD MAYOR
Pray God she do, for, i’faith, Mistress Eyre,
I would bestow upon that peevish girl
A thousand marks more than I mean to give her,
Upon condition she’d be ruled by me.
The ape still crosseth me:  there came of late
A proper gentleman of fair revenues,
Whom gladly I would call son-in-law,
But my fine cockney would have none of him.
You’ll prove a coxcomb for it, ere you die:
A courtier, or no man, must please your eye.

EYRE
Be ruled, sweet Rose.  Th’art for a man:  marry not with a boy that has no more hair on his face than thou hast on thy cheeks.  A courtier?  Wash, go by, stand not upon pishery-pashery!  Those silken fellows are but painted images; outsides, outsides, Rose:  their inner linings are torn.  No, my fine mouse, marry me with a gentleman grocer, like my Lord Mayor your father.  A grocer is a sweet trade, plums, plums!  Had I a son or daughter should marry out of the generation and blood of the shoemakers, he should pack.  What?  The Gentle Trade is a living for a man through Europe, through the world!

[A noise within of a tabor and a pipe.

LORD MAYOR
What noise is this?

EYRE
O my Lord Mayor, a crew of good fellows that for love to your honour are come hither with a morris-dance.  Come in, my Mesopotamians, cheerily!

Enter HODGE, LACY, RALPH, FIRK, and other Shoemakers, in
a morris.  After a little dancing the LORD MAYOR speaks.

 LORD MAYOR
Master Eyre, are all these shoemakers?

EYRE
All cordwainers, my good Lord Mayor.

ROSE
[Aside.] How like my Lacy looks yond shoemaker!

LACY
[Aside.] I that I durst but speak unto my love!

LORD MAYOR
Sybil, go fetch some wine to make these drink;
You are all welcome.                                                                [Exit SYBIL.

ALL THE DANCERS
We thank your Lordship.

Enter SYBIL with wine.  ROSE takes a cup of wine and goes to
LACY.

 ROSE
For his sake whose fair shape thou represent’st,
Good friend, I drink to thee.

LACY
Ic be dancke, good frister.

MARGERY
I see, Mistress Rose, you do not want judgment:  you have drunk to the properest man I keep.

FIRK
Here be some have done their parts to be as proper as he.

LORD MAYOR
Well, urgent business calls me back to London:
Good fellows, first go in and taste our cheer,
And, to make merry as you homeward go,
Spend these two angels in beer at Stratford Bow.

EYRE
To these two, my mad lads, Sim Eyre adds another.  Then cheerily, Firk, tickle it, Hans, and all for the honour of shoemakers.                              [All go dancing out.

LORD MAYOR
Come, Master Eyre, let’s have your company.

[Exeunt LORD MAYOR, EYRE and MARGERY.

ROSE
Sybil, what shall I do?

SYBIL
Why, what’s the matter?

ROSE
That Hans the shoemaker is my love Lacy,
Disguised in that attire to find me out.
How should I find the means to speak with him?

SYBIL
What, mistress, never fear; I dare venture my maidenhead to nothing, and that’s great odds, that Hans the Dutchman, when we come to London, shall not only see and speak with you, but in spite all your father’s policies, steal you away and marry you.  Will not this please you?

ROSE
Do this, and ever be assured of my love.

SYBIL
Away then, and follow your father to London, lest your absence cause him to suspect something.
Tomorrow, if my counsel be obeyed,
I’ll bind you prentice to the Gentle Trade.                                         [Exeunt.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

