The Shoemaker’s Holiday – Act 3, Scene 1

Return to previous scene

Enter LORD MAYOR and MASTER SCOTT.

LORD MAYOR
Good Master Scott, I have been bold with you,
To be a witness to a wedding-knot
Betwixt young Master Hammon and my daughter.
O stand aside, see where the lovers come.

Enter HAMMON and ROSE.

ROSE
Can it be possible you love me so?
No, no, within those eyeballs I espy
Apparent likelihoods of flattery.
Pray now, let go my hand.

HAMMON
Sweet Mistress Rose,
Misconstrue not my words, nor misconceive
Of my affection, whose devoted soul
Swears that I love thee dearer than my heart.

ROSE
As dear as your own heart?  I judge it right:
Men love their hearts best when th’are out of sight.

HAMMON
I love you, by this hand.

ROSE
Yet hands of now:
If flesh be frail, how weak and frail’s your vow!

HAMMON
Then by my life I swear.

ROSE
Then do not brawl:
One quarrel loseth wife and life and all.
Is not your meaning thus?

HAMMON
In faith, you jest.

ROSE
Love loves to sport:  therefore leave love y’are best.

LORD MAYOR
[Aside to Scott.] What, square they, Master Scott?

SCOTT
[Aside to MAYOR.] Sir, never doubt.
Lovers are quickly in, and quickly out.

HAMMON
Sweet Rose, be not so strange in fancying me;
Nay, never turn aside, shun not my sight.
I am not grown so fond, to fond my love
On any that shall quit it with disdain:
If you will love me, so; if not, farewell.

LORD MAYOR
Why, how now, lovers, are you both agreed?

HAMMON
Yes, faith, my Lord.

LORD MAYOR
‘Tis well, give me your hand;
Give me yours, daughter.  How now, both pull back?
What means this, girl?

ROSE
I mean to live a maid.

HAMMON
[Aside.] But not to die one:  pause ere that be said!

LORD MAYOR
Will you still cross me?  Still be obstinate?

HAMMON
Nay, chide her not, my Lord, for doing well!
If she can live an happy virgin’s life,
‘Tis far more blessed than to be a wife.

ROSE
Say, sir, I cannot:  I have made a vow,
Whoever be my husband, ’tis not you.

LORD MAYOR
You tongue is quick; but, Master Hammon, know
I bade you welcome to another end.

HAMMON
What, would you have me pule, and pine, and pray,
With lovely lady, mistress of my heart,
Pardon your servant, and the rhymer play,
Railing on Cupid and his tyrant’s dart?
Or shall I undertake some martial spoil,
Wearing your glove at tourney and at tilt,
And tell how many gallants I unhorsed?
Sweet, will this pleasure you?

ROSE
Yea, when wilt thou begin?
What, love-rhymes, man?  Fie on that deadly sin!

LORD MAYOR
If you will have her, I’ll make her agree.

HAMMON
Enforced love is worse than hate to me.
There is a wench keeps shop in the Old ‘Change:
To her will I; it is not wealth I seek;
I have enough, and will prefer her love
Before the world.  My good Lord Mayor, adieu:
Old love for me, I have no luck with new.                          [Exit HAMMON.

LORD MAYOR
Now, mammet, you have well behaved yourself!
But you shall curse your coyness, if I live.
Who’s within, there!  See you convey your mistress
Straight to th’Old Ford.  I’ll keep you straight enough!
‘Fore God, I would have sworn the puling girl
Would willingly accepted Hammon’s love;
But banish him my thoughts:  go, minion, in!                         [Exit ROSE.
Now tell me, Master Scott, would you have thought
That Master Simon Eyre the shoemaker
Had been of wealth to buy such merchandise?

SCOTT
‘Twas well, my Lord, your Honour and myself
Grew partners with him, for your bills of lading
Show that Eyre’s gains in one commodity
Rise at the least to full three thousand pound,
Beside like gain in other merchandise.

LORD MAYOR
Well, he shall spend some of his thousands now,
For I have sent for him to the Guildhall.

Enter EYRE.

See where he comes.  Good morrow, Master Eyre.

EYRE
Poor Simon Eyre, my Lord, your shoemaker.

LORD MAYOR
Well, well, it likes yourself to term you so.

Enter DODGER.

Now, Master Dodger, what’s the news with you?

DODGER
I’d gladly speak in private to your Honour.

LORD MAYOR
You shall, you shall.  Master Eyre and Master Scott,
I have some business with this gentleman:
I pray, let me entreat you to walk before
To the Guildhall; I’ll follow presently.
Master Eyre, I hope ere noon to call you Sheriff.

EYRE
I would not care, my Lord, if you might call me King of Spain. Come, Master Scott.                                                               [Exeunt EYRE and SCOTT.

LORD MAYOR
Now, Master Dodger, what’s the news you bring?

DODGER
The Earl of Lincoln by me greets your Lordship,
And earnestly requests you, if you can,
Inform him where his nephew Lacy keeps.

LORD MAYOR
Is not his nephew Lacy now in France?

DODGER
No, I assure your Lordship, but disguised
Lurks here in London.

LORD MAYOR
London?  Is’t even so?
It may be, but upon my faith and soul,
I know not where he lives, or whether he lives.
So tell my Lord of Lincoln.  Lurk in London.
Well, Master Dodger, you perhaps may start him;
Be but the means to rid him into France,
I’ll give you a dozen angels for your pains:
So much I love his Honour, hate his nephew,
And prithee so inform thy lord from me.

DODGER
I take my leave.

LORD MAYOR
Farewell, Master Dodger.                                                              [Exit DODGER.
Lacy in London!  I dare pawn my life,
My daughter knows thereof, and for that cause
Denied young Master Hammon in him love.
Well, I am glad I sent her to Old Ford.
God’s Lord, ’tis late!  To Guildhall I must hie:
I know my brethren stay my company.                                              [Exit.

Proceed to next scene.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

