Patient Grissel – Act 5, Scene 2

Return to the previous scene

Enter, MARQUESS, PAVIA, LEPIDO, ONOPHRIO,
URCENZE, FARNEZE, and MARIO.

 MARQUESS
Lords, as you love our state, affect our loves
Like of your own content, respect you lives.
Urge us no further; Gwalter is resolv’d
To marry the half-heir of Brandenburg.
My brother Pavia with no small expense
Hath brought the princess our of Germany
Together with Prince Gwalter, her young brother.
Now they are come, learn of the rising sun,
Scatter the cloudy mists of discontent
As he disperseth vapours with his beams.

PAVIA
Brother, there is no eye but brightly shines;
Gladness doth lodge in your nobles’ looks;
Nor have they any cause to cloud their brows.

 Enter SIR OWEN, GWENTHYAN, and RICE with wands.

 FARNEZE
Oh, here comes Sir Owen and my Lady Patience.  Room there.

SIR OWEN
Tardaugh, cousin Marquess and Lawrds awl.

MARQUESS
Welcome, good cousin Gwenthyan, will you please
Go in and lend your presence to my bride?

GWENTHYAN
Cousin, ‘tis her intentions so to do, but I swear and I were Grissil, I would pull her eyes out, and she were as many Shermany’s daughter as there be cows in Cambria, and this is above twenty score and a liddle more, you know, Sir Owen?

SIR OWEN
Yes, truly above a dozen more is warrant her.

MARQUESS
Grissil is patient, madam, be you pleas’d.

GWENTHYAN
Well, and she be so baselies minded, ‘tis well; but I know whad I know.  Sir Owen here thinks to make Gwenthyan so patience.  Sir Owen, ‘tis all in vanes.  Well, I go to her brides.                                                                                                                 [Exit.

SIR OWEN
You prade and you taug Gwenthyans, but I made you put on parrels for awl your taug and prade.  Rees, where’s Rees?  Pring the wands here, Rees.

RICE
They are here, sir, in the twinkling of an eye.

SIR OWEN
Cousin, when her weddings are done and at leisures, I will learn your medicines to tame shrews.

MARQUESS
You shall anon, good cousin Meredith.

SIR OWEN
Stand by, Rees, walk in the halls among the servingmans.  Keep her wands till I call, hear you now?

 Enter FURIO.

 RICE
Yes, sir.                                                                                                                           [Exit.

MARQUESS
Furio, are Grissil and the other come?

FURIO
Yes, they are come.

MARQUESS
Are they employed according to our charge?

FURIO
They are.

MARQUESS
How does her brother take it?

FURIO
Ill.

MARQUESS
How her father?

FURIO
Well.

MARQUESS
How her self?

FURIO
Better.

MARQUESS
Furio, go call out Grissil from the bride.

FURIO
I will.                                                                               [Exit FURIO.

FARNEZE
It’s pity that fellow was not made a soldier.  He should have but a word and a blow at his hands.

 Enter JANICOLA and BABULO carrying coals, LAUREO
with wood, GRISSIL with wood.

 BABULO
Master, go you but under the coal-staff.  Babulo can bear all, staff, basket, and all.

JANICOLA
It is the Marquess’ pleasure I must drudge.
Load me, I pray thee, I am born to bear.

LAUREO
But I’ll no longer bear a logger head.
Thus I’ll cast down his fuel in despite
So, though my heart be sad, my shoulder’s light.

GRISSIL
Alas!  What do you, brother?  See you not
Our dread lord yonder?  Come, perform his will.
Oh, in a subject this is too too ill!

MARQUESS
What meanst thou, fellow, to cast down thy load?

LAUREO
I have cast down my burthen, not my load;
The load of your gross wrongs lies here like lead.

MARQUESS
What fellow is this?

GRISSIL
Your handmaid Grissil’s brother.

MARQUESS
Take him away into the porter’s lodge.

LAUREO
Lodge me in dungeons, I will still exclaim
On Gwalter’s cursed acts and hated name.                                [Exit with MARIO.

MARQUESS
Grissil, take you this load and bear it in.

BABULO
Oh, tiger minded monstrous Marquess!  Make thy lady a collier?

MARQUESS
What’s that that villain prates so?

BABULO
God bless the noble Marquess!

MARQUESS
Sirrah, take you his coals.  Grissil, depart.
Return, but bear that first.

GRISSIL
With all my heart.                       [Exit GRISSIL and BABULO grinning at him.

MARQUESS
Stay you, Janicola.  I have heard you sing.

JANICOLA
I could have sung when I was free from care.

MARQUESS
What grief can in your aged bosom lie?

JANICOLA
Grief that I am ungracious in your eye.

FARNEZE
Then would he not desire your company.

Enter GRISSIL.

MARQUESS
Janicola, here is a bridal song,
Play you the lark to greet my blessed sun.
Grissil, are you return’d?  Play you the morning
To lead forth Gratiana, my bright bride.
Go in and wait on her.  Janicola
Sing Hymeneus hymns.  Music, I say!                                                    [Exit GRISSIL.

SIR OWEN
Tawsone, tawsone, cousins all, and hear harmonies and sol faes!

The Song

Beauty, arise!  Show forth thy glorious shining!
Thine eyes feed Love, for then he standeth pining.

Honour and youth attend to do their duty
To thee, their only sovereign, Beauty.
Beauty, arise!  whilst we, thy servants, sing
Io to Hymen wedlock’s jocund king.
    Io to Hymen, Io, Io, sing.
    Of wedlock, love, and youth is Hymen king!
Beauty, arise!  Beauty, arise!  Thy glorious lights display
Whilst we sing Io, glad to see this day!
   Io, Io, to Hymen, Io, Io, sing
   Of wedlock, love, and youth is Hymen king!

MARQUESS
Art thou as glad in soul as in thy song?

JANICOLA
Who can be glad when he endureth wrong?

SIR OWEN
As Cod udge me Jan Niclas is honest man, he does not flatter and sembles, but tell his intentions.  Owe, more melodies!  Owe, here come her new pride!

 Music sounds.  Enter GRISSIL alone, after her the MARQUESS son
 and daughter, JULIA, GWENTHYAN and other Ladies,
and MARIO, and FURIO.

 MARQUESS
Salute my beauteous love!

ALL
All joy betide
To Gratiana, our dear Marquess’ bride!

MARQUESS
Bring me a crown of gold to crown my love;
A wreath of willow for despised Grissil.

GRISSIL
Grissil is not despised in your eye
Sithence you name her name so gently.

SIR OWEN
Gwenthyans, there’s wives, there’s patient wives.

GWENTHYAN
Fuh, fuh is fools!  Tawsone is arrant poby fools!

MARQUESS
Grissil, place you this crown upon her head,
Put these embroidered slippers on her feet.
‘Tis well, deliver me your wedding ring,
Circle her finger with it, now stand by.
Are thou content with all?

GRISSIL
Content with all.

MARQUESS
My bride is crown’d.  Now, tell me all of you,
Which of you ever saw my love before?
What is her name? her birthplace? her beauty?

LEPIDO
Till now I never beheld her beauty.

ONOPHRIO
Nor I.

URCENZE
Trust me, not I.

FARNEZE
By my troth, not I.

MARIO
We hear that she was born in Germany
And half heir to the Duke of Brandenburg.

MARQUESS
You all hear this and all think this?

ALL
We do.

MARQUESS
Then, Furio, stand thou forth.  Lords, in his breast
A loyal servant’s true soul doth rest.
Furio shall be apparelled in a robe.

FURIO
I shall not become it.

MARQUES
Some that are too great put robes on parasites.
Mario, Lepido, come you two hither.
Are not you richly clad?  Have I done so?

BOTH
What means your grace by this?

MARQUESS
Graceless, have done!
Truth seldom dwells in a still talking tongue.
Furio, bring Laureo from the porter’s lodge.
Take in Janicola, and clothe them both
In rich abiliments; they shall awhile
Be flattered with false fortunes wanton smiles.

JANICOLA
Fortune can do no more than she hath done.
They that are mark’d to woe, to woe must run. [Exit FURIO and JANICOLA.

MARQUESS
How do you like my bride?

GRISSIL
I think her bless’d
To have the love of such a noble lord.

MARQUESS
You flatter me.

GRISSIL
Indeed, I speak the truth,
Only I prostrately beseech your grace
That you consider of her tender years
Which, as a flower in spring may soon be nipp’d
With the least frost of cold adversity.

MARQUESS
Why are you not then nipp’d?  You still seem fresh
As if adversities cold icy hand
Had never laid his fingers on your heart.

GRISSIL
It never touch’d my heart; adversity
Dwells still with them that dwells with misery,
But mild content has eas’d me of that yoke.
Patience hath born the bruise and I the stroke.

 Enter FURIO, and LAUREO, striving about attire.

 LAUREO
Give him his silks, they shall not touch my back.

MARQUESS
What strife is there?  What aileth Laureo?

LAUREO
I will not wear proud trappings like a beast
Yet hourly feel the scornful rider’s spur.

MARQUESS
Clothe old Janicula in rich attire.

JANICOLA
Do, load me, for to bear is my desire.

MARQUESS
Do ye repine, nay then I’ll vex you more.
Grissil, I will receive this second wife
From none but from thy hands.  Come, give her me.

GRISSIL
I here present you with an endless bliss
Rich honour, beauteous virtue, virtuous youth.
Long live my lord with her contentedly.

SIR OWEN
Marg patience there Gwenthyan, see you thad?

MARQUESS
Grissil, dost thou deliver me this maid
As an untainted flower which I shall keep,
Despite of envy’s canker, till the rust
Of all consuming death finish her life?

GRISSIL
I do, my dear lord, and as willingly
As I delivered up my maiden youth.

MARQUESS
What says Janicola?

JANICOLA
I say but thus:
Great men are gods, and they have power o’er us.

MARQUESS
Grissil, hold fast the right hand of my bride.
Thou wear’st a willow wreath and she a crown.
True bride, take thou the crown and she the wreath.

MARIO
My gracious lord, you do mistake yourself.

MARQUESS
Peace, peace, thou sycophant!  Grissil, receive
Large interests for thy love and sufferance.
Thou gav’st me this fair maid, I in exchange
Return thee her and this young gentleman.
Thy son and daughter, kiss with patience,
And breathe thy virtuous spirit into their souls.

GWENTHYAN
Ow, Sir Owen, marg you now.  The man is yielded to her laty.  Learn now, Sir Owen, learn, learn, knight, your duty, see you thad?

MARQUESS
Why stands my wronged Grissil thus amazed?

GRISSIL
Joy, fear, love, hate, hope, doubts encompass me.
Are these my children I supposed slain?

JANICOLA
Are these my nephews that were murdered?

GRISSIL
Blessing distil on you like morning dew,
My soul knit to your souls, knows you are mine.

MARQUESS
They are, and I am thine.  Lords, look not strange;
These two are they, at whose birth, envy’s tongue
Darted envenom’d stings.  These are the fruit
Of this most virtuous tree, that multitude,
That many headed beast nipp’d their sweet hearts
With wrongs, with bitter wrongs.  All you have wrong’d her.
My self have done most wrong, for I did try
To break the temper of the constancy.
But these whom all thought murder’d are alive;
My Grissil lives, and in the book of fame
All worlds in gold shall register her name.

LEPIDO & MARIO
Most dreaded lord.

MARQUESS
Arise, flatterers, get you gone!
Your souls are made of black confusion.  [Exeunt LEPIDO and MARIO.
Father Janicola.

JANICOLA
Oh, pardon me!
Though dumb betwixt my grief and joy I be.

MARQUESS
Who stands thus sad, what brother Laureo?

LAUREO
Pardon me, my gracious lord, for now I see
That scholars with weak eyes pour on their books
But want true souls to judge on majesty.
None else but kings can know the hearts of kings.
Henceforth, my pride shall fly with humbler wings.

MARQUESS
Our pardon and our love circle thee round.
Let’s all to banquet, mirth our cares confound.

SIR OWEN
Hold, hold, hold, banquet!  If you banquet so, Sir Owen is like to have sheer.  Her laty here is cog a hoop now at this.  Pray, cousin, keep your promise.  Rees, the wands, Rees.  Your medicines and fine trigs to tame shrews.

MARQUESS
Furio, where be the wands that I bound up?

FURIO
Here, my lord.

MARQUESS
I wreath’d them then, Sir Owen, and you see
They still continue so, wreath you these three.

SIR OWEN
Ow, wind them, yes is wind them and mag good mighty cudgel to tame and knog her lady, and she prawl, or cry, or give pread and meat to peggers, or tear ponds, by Cod is well remembered too.  Cousin, you promis’d t help her to her duckegs, for all her paper and ponds is torn?

MARQUESS
And I will keep my promise.  Wreath your wands.

SIR OWEN
Ow, God’s lid, mine is stubborn like Gwenthyans!  God’s plude, see it preaks in snip snap pieces!  What now, cousin?

MARQUESS
But, cousin, these you see did gently bow.
I tried my Grissil’s patience when ‘twas green
Like a young osier, and I moulded it
Like was to all impressions.  Married men
That long to tame their wives must curb them in
Before they need a bridle; then they’ll prove
All Grissils, full of patience, full of love.
Yet, that old trial must be temper’d so,
Least seeking to tame them they master you.

SIR OWEN
By Cod, is true as pistle and gospel!  Oh, true out a-cry!

MARQUESS
But you, Sir Owen, giving her the head
As you gave liberty to these three wands,
She’ll break as those do, if you bend her now
And then y’are past all help, for if you strive
You’ll gain as gamesters do that seldom thrive.

SIR OWEN
What shall do to her laty then?  Is pest run away, cousin, of knog her brains out?  For is as faliant as Mars if I be anger.

JULIA
That were a shame either to run away from a woman, or to strike her.  Your best physic, Sir Owen, is to wear a velvet hand, leaden eyes, and no tongue, you must not fight howsoer she quarrels, you must be deaf whensoever she brawls, and dumb when your self should brabble.  Take this caudle nest your heart every morning, and if your wife be not patient, the next remedy that I know of is, to buy your winding sheet.

GWENTHYAN
Cousin Marquess, cousin Julia, and lawrds and laties all, it shall not need.  As her cousin has tried Grissil, so Gwenthyan has Sir Owen.

SIR OWEN
Ow, by Cod is thought should pull her down, ah ha!

GWENTHYAN
Is not pull’d down neither, but, Sir Owen, shall be her head, and is sorry has anger her head and mag it ache.  But pray, good knight, be not proud and triumph too much and tread her laty down, God udge me will tag her will again do what her can.

SIR OWEN
By Cod, is love her out a-cry now!  Sir Owen could tame her before, but Prittish plood scarwns to fide with laties.  Yes, faith, scorns out a-cry.  A pogs on’t, ‘tis naught.  Gwenthyan shall no more be call’d Gwenthyan, but patient Grissil, ah ha is.

MARQUESS
Our joys are complete, forward to our feast!
Patience hath won the prize, and now is blest.

JULIA
Nay, brother, your pardon awhile.  Besides ourselves there are a number here that have beheld Grissil’s patience; your own trials, and Sir Owen’s sufferance, Gwenthyan’s frowardness, these gentlemen lovertine, and myself a hater of love.  Amongst this company I trust there are some maiden bachelors, and virgin maidens, those that live in that freedom and love it, those that know the war of marriage and hate it, set their hands to my bill, which is rather to die a maid and lead apes in hell, then to live a wife and be continually in hell.

GWENTHYAN
Julia, by your leave a lidle while.  You taug and you prabble about shidings in marriage, and you abuse young mens and damsels and fraid them from good sports and honourable states.  But here you now, awl that be sembled here, know you that discords mag good music, and when lovers fall out is soon fall in, and ‘tis good you know.  Pray you all, be married, for wedlock increases peobles and cities.  Awl you then that have husbands that you would pridle, set your hands to Gwenthyan’s pill, for ‘tis not fid that poor womens should be kept always under.

MARQUESS
Since Julia of the maids, and Gwenthyan
Of froward wives entreat a kind applaud.
See Grissil among all this multitude.
Who will be friend to gentle patience?

SIR OWEN

Ha, ha, ha!  Grissil is weary.  Pray let Sir Owen speag.  Grissil is patient, and her cousin is patient.  Therefore is speag for two.  God’s plood, you see her laty is spride of buttry, yet Sir Owen tame her and tear her ruffs, and mag her cry and put on her parels and say is sorry, Sir Owen, marg that well.  If Sir Owen was not patient, her laty had not been pridled.  If Grissil had not been patient, her cousin Marquess had not been pridled.  Well now, if you love Sir Owen’s laty, I hobe you love Sir Owen too, or is grow mighty angry.  Sir Owen Love you, as God udge me out a-cry, a terrible teal, do you hear now.  Then pray awl that have crabb’d husbands and cannot mend them, as Grissils had, and awl that have fixen wives, and yet is tame her well enough as Sir Owen does, to sed her two hands to his pill, and by God shall have Sir Owen’s heard and soul in his pelly.  And so, God save you all.  Man gras wortha whee.  God night, cousins awl.                                    [Exeunt.

 F I N I S

Return to Dekker page

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

