The Shoemaker’s Holiday – Act 2, Scene 2

Return to previous scene

Hunting within.  Enter ROSE and SYBIL.

 ROSE
Why, Sybil, wilt thou prove a forester?

SYBIL
Upon some, no!  Forester, go by!  No, faith, mistress!  The deer came running into the barn, through the orchard, and over the pale:  I wot well, I looked as pale as a new cheese to see him, but whip! says goodman Pin-close, up with his flail, and our Nick with a prong, and down they fell, and they upon him, and I upon them.  By my troth, we had such sport!  And in the end we ended him, his throat we cut, flayed him, unhorned him, and my Lord Mayor shall eat of him anon when he comes.                                                           [Horns sound within.

ROSE
Hark, hark, the hunters some:  y’are best take heed,
They’ll have a saying to you for this deed.

Enter HAMMON, WARNER, Huntsmen and Boy.

 HAMMON
God save you, fair ladies.

SYBIL
Ladies! O gross!

WARNER
Came not a buck this way?

ROSE
No, but two does.

HAMMON
And which way went they?  Faith, we’ll hunt at those.

SYBIL
At those?  Upon some, no!  When, can you tell?

WARNER
Upon some, ay!

SYBIL
Good Lord!

WARNER
Wounds!  Then farewell.

HAMMON
Boy, which way went he?

BOY
This way, sir, he ran.

HAMMON
This way he ran indeed; fair Mistress Rose,
Our game was lately in your orchard seen.

WARNER
Can you advise which way he took his flight?

SYBIL
Follow your nose:  his horns will guide you right.

WARNER
Th’art a mad wench.

SYBIL
O rich!

ROSE
Trust me, not I.
It is not like the wild forest deer
Would come so near to places of resort:
You are deceived, he fled some other way.

WARNER
Which way, my sugar-candy, can you show?

SYBIL
Come up, good honeysops; upon some, no.

ROSE
Why do you stay, and not pursue your game?

SYBIL
I’ll hold my life their hunting nags be lame.

HAMMON
A deer more dear is found within this place.

ROSE
But not the deer, sir, which you had in chase.

HAMMON
I chased the deer, but this dear chaseth me.

ROSE
The strangest hunting that ever I see:
But where’s your park?                                            [She offers to go away.

HAMMON
‘Tis here:  O stay!

ROSE
Impale me, and then I will not stray.

WARNER
They wrangle, wench; we are more kind than they.

SYBIL
What kind of hart is that, dear heart, you seek?

WARNER
A hart, dear heart.

SYBIL
Who ever saw the like?

ROSE
To lose your heart, is’t possible you can?

HAMMON
My heart is lost.

ROSE
Alack, good gentleman!

HAMMON
This poor lost heart would I wish you might find.

ROSE
You by such luck might prove your hart a hind.

HAMMON
Why, Luck had horns, so I have heard some say.

ROSE
Now, God, and’t be his will, send luck into your way!

Enter LORD MAYOR and Servants.

 LORD MAYOR
What, Master Hammon!  Welcome to Old Ford.

SYBIL
God’s pittikins, hands off, sir!  Here’s my Lord!

LORD MAYOR
I hear you had ill luck, and lost your game.

HAMMON
‘Tis true my Lord.

LORD MAYOR
I am sorry for the same.
What gentleman is this?

HAMMON
My brother-in-law.

LORD MAYOR
Y’are welcome both; sith Fortune offers you
Into my hands, you shall not part from hence
Until you have refreshed your wearied limbs.
Go, Sybil, cover the board; you shall be guest
To no good cheer, but even a hunter’s feast.

HAMMON
I thank your Lordship.  [Aside to WARNER.] Cousin, on my life,
For our lost venison I shall find a wife. [Exeunt all except LORD MAYOR.

LORD MAYOR
In, gentlemen:  I’ll not be absent long.
This Hammon is a proper gentleman:
A citizen by birth, fairly allied.
How fit an husband were he for my girl!
Well, I will in, and do the best I can,
To match my daughter to this gentleman.                                            [Exit.

Proceed to the next scene

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

